Page 1 of 1

acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 3:42 pm
by KabirGandhiok
Hi,

I just installed acpi, wanted to check the system temperature, so I ran command acpi -t and it didn't show anything. All the other acpi commands work, except the -t option and I wonder why. Doing acpi -t just brings back the command prompt without any information. Does anyone know why this could be happening?

Thanks!
K

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 3:54 pm
by Habitual
Installed from what source? (Software Manager or Synaptic, I HOPE)
What version of LM?
What Desktop?

I just installed it and ran it

Code: Select all

acpi -tf
Thermal 0: ok, 85.6 degrees F
Thermal 1: ok, 82.0 degrees F

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:31 pm
by KabirGandhiok
Thanks for responding Habitual.

I did sudo apt-get install acpi
acpi version - 1.7
LM 17.2 Cinnamon
Lenovo laptop, AMD graphics, i5 processor

If I do acpi -t or even acpi -tf, I get no output, this is what I get -

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ acpi -tf
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ acpi -tf
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ acpi -v
acpi 1.7

Copyright (C) 2001 Grahame Bowland.
2008-2012 Michael Meskes.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ acpi -t
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ acpi -tf
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 9:43 am
by Habitual
Strange you get a version but no data before that.

I don't know, sorry.

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:12 pm
by KabirGandhiok
Well, I couldn't get it to work, so I removed it. On a side note, is it better / safer to download software on mint using synaptic or the software manager instead of apt-get install?

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 4:50 pm
by Habitual
KabirGandhiok wrote:Well, I couldn't get it to work, so I removed it. On a side note, is it better / safer to download software on mint using synaptic or the software manager instead of apt-get install?
apt-get install is the equivalent to the Software Manager and I use either of those.
New users should IMO use the graphical Software Manager or the Graphical Synaptic.
Synaptic I only use to Lock Versions, but this can be done via command-line also.

It's totally a matter of preference.

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:54 am
by KabirGandhiok
KabirGandhiok wrote:apt-get install is the equivalent to the Software Manager and I use either of those.
New users should IMO use the graphical Software Manager or the Graphical Synaptic.
Synaptic I only use to Lock Versions, but this can be done via command-line also.
Thanks! :)

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:26 am
by Habitual
You are welcome.
Have you tried lm-sensors?

Equivalent info from the output:

Code: Select all

sensors -f
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +82.0°F  (crit = +210.2°F)
temp2:        +85.6°F  (crit = +210.2°F)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0: +161.6°F  (high = +176.0°F, crit = +208.4°F)
Core 0:        +156.2°F  (high = +176.0°F, crit = +208.4°F)
Core 1:        +156.2°F  (high = +176.0°F, crit = +208.4°F)
Core 2:        +161.6°F  (high = +176.0°F, crit = +208.4°F)
Core 3:        +158.0°F  (high = +176.0°F, crit = +208.4°F)
and for the first adapter, I run

Code: Select all

sensors acpitz-virtual-0 -f
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +82.0°F  (crit = +210.2°F)
temp2:        +85.6°F  (crit = +210.2°F)
compared to

Code: Select all

acpi -tf
Thermal 0: ok, 85.6 degrees F
Thermal 1: ok, 82.0 degrees F
Linux is nothing, if not flexible. :)

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:43 am
by KabirGandhiok
Thanks!
This is what I get after running sensors -f

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ sensors -f
radeon-pci-0400
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: N/A (crit = +248.0°F, hyst = +194.0°F)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0: +105.8°F (high = +221.0°F, crit = +221.0°F)
Core 0: +105.8°F (high = +221.0°F, crit = +221.0°F)
Core 1: +105.8°F (high = +221.0°F, crit = +221.0°F)

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 9:07 am
by Habitual

Code: Select all

sensors radeon-pci-0400 -f
:)

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:25 pm
by KabirGandhiok
Awesome!
Though I still don't get the radeon temperature, I think that's because I'm not using any proprietary drivers.

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ sensors radeon-pci-0400 -f
radeon-pci-0400
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: N/A (crit = +248.0°F, hyst = +194.0°F)

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 4:19 pm
by Habitual
bummer:
Try this:

Code: Select all

sudo smartctl -A  /dev/sda | grep Celsius | awk '{print $10}'
is Celsius.
Let's convert to F

Code: Select all

expr 9 '*' $(sudo smartctl -A  /dev/sda | grep Celsius | awk '{print $10}') / 5 + 32

Code: Select all

sudo smartctl -A  /dev/sda | grep Celsius | awk '{print $10}'
37 # Celsius
expr 9 '*' $(sudo smartctl -A  /dev/sda | grep Celsius | awk '{print $10}') / 5 + 32
98 # Fahrenheit
It's actually 98.6 but "close enough"?

You will need to use sudo for this and the sudo password is good for 10m before the next sudo password prompt.
We can fix that and automate the whole mess in a alias so you'd only have to type

Code: Select all

temp
or something like that to get the output.

It's scary, but in a fun way, like roller-coasters!

If all this is too scary or overly complex, you can install gkrellm and it shows Temperature (here), but I had to configure it.
gkrellm.png
Let me know.

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 4:24 pm
by Habitual
Or....

Code: Select all

inxi -s
So much easier.

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:27 am
by KabirGandhiok
Thanks :D I tried them all, inxi works perfectly. Here are the outputs I get -

smartctl did not work -

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sda | grep Celsius | awk '{print $10}'
[sudo] password for kabir:
sudo: smartctl: command not found
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $

kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $ inxi -s
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: N/A gpu: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
kabir@kabir-G50-80 ~ $

I wonder why it shows fan speeds as n/a

Re: acpi -t not working, any idea why?

Posted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:10 am
by Habitual
KabirGandhiok wrote:Thanks :D I tried them all, inxi works perfectly....
I wonder why it shows fan speeds as n/a
inxi does the same for me here.

Let's back up one step to acpi...
It seems there is an acpid (daemon) that should be running right after boot.
Check to see if it is, using

Code: Select all

pidof acpid
does your system show a PID after doing so?

Code: Select all

service acpid status
spews out

Code: Select all

status: Unknown job: acpid
so I don't know how that beast is supposed to start.
Power Management feature maybe?

How about a purge using

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove acpi --purge
and then re-installing it using

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install acpi
then test again with

Code: Select all

acpi -tf
Let me know!