Can anyone tell me how to modify Hostname & Workgroup?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
UKEZ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:27 pm

Can anyone tell me how to modify Hostname & Workgroup?

Postby UKEZ » Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:23 pm

Can anyone tell me where or how i can change my host name and workgroup, i cant find a application anywhere within version 6 that enables me to do that?


Can i modify the hostname here?
/etc/hostname


If so cool, if not where?

And how about the workgroup, where can that be changed in version 6?



Thanks for your help :)

UKEZ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:27 pm

Basic Support???????

Postby UKEZ » Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:29 pm

Can anyone help me out with this, its pretty basic stuff.. Something that would take a few seconds to change on pclinuxos, ubuntu or windows ..

Anyone??

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Can anyone tell me how to modify Hostname & Workgroup?

Postby 900i » Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:11 pm

UKEZ wrote:Can i modify the hostname here?
/etc/hostname


If so cool, if not where?

And how about the workgroup, where can that be changed in version 6?


Thanks for your help :)


Works for me, but what about /etc/hosts wont it want changing there? aswell. As for workgroup, no idea sorry.
Intel i7 LMDE 2. Daily driver Toshiba Chromebook

UKEZ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:27 pm

Re: Can anyone tell me how to modify Hostname & Workgroup?

Postby UKEZ » Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:52 pm

I've worked out how to do this for myself, its easy but still not as simple as other linux platforms.

Developers take note: The option to change work group and computer name simply, is something that should be incorporated into the Mint OS.

Something like this shouldn't require the end user to have to browse through forums for an answer to this kind of scenario, but if and when that is the case this sort of simple and sometimes essential information should be common place and "NOT" none existent.

I found no help from this forum.


:|


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests