[SOLVED] Keyboard combination for switching language input

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
martienne
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Northern EU

[SOLVED] Keyboard combination for switching language input

Post by martienne »

Switching between different keyboards can be necessary if you are typing in multiple languages.
In Windows I have set it up so I simply press Ctrl + Shift to rotate around the input languages.
This is because of additional or different characters.
Can this be achieved in Mint?
Last edited by martienne on Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
tolkien
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:50 am

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by tolkien »

You can probably configure this graphically, at least I did in MATE.
But anyway, you can also type this into the terminal:
setxkbmap -layout us,jp -option grp:switch,grp:ctrl_shift_toggle

just replace "jp" with your country acronym/abbreviation.
User avatar
martienne
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Northern EU

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by martienne »

tolkien wrote:You can probably configure this graphically, at least I did in MATE.
But anyway, you can also type this into the terminal:
setxkbmap -layout us,jp -option grp:switch,grp:ctrl_shift_toggle

just replace "jp" with your country acronym/abbreviation.
I did:

Code: Select all

sudo setxkbmap -layout uk,sv,ru -option grp:switch,grp:ctrl_shift_toggle
[sudo] password for hanna: 
Error loading new keyboard description

any ideas?
Last edited by martienne on Sat Nov 14, 2015 8:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
tolkien
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:50 am

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by tolkien »

What does "sv" stand for?
User avatar
martienne
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Northern EU

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by martienne »

Swedish
tolkien
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:50 am

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by tolkien »

Try "se" then.
User avatar
martienne
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Northern EU

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by martienne »

Yeah I did but it doesn't work. Besides, I really think it's sv - it's the ISO standard for Swedish.
tolkien
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:50 am

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by tolkien »

Hmm... I have tried "se" myself, and it is working. But you are right, it does show "sv" in the notification bar.

EDIT:
Perhaps this guide can help you:
http://linuxblog.darkduck.com/2013/11/h ... -mate.html
Last edited by tolkien on Sat Nov 14, 2015 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
martienne
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Northern EU

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by martienne »

Thanks for checking! But no joy for me. Here is cut and paste from what failed.

hanna@ATHENA ~ $ sudo setxkbmap -layout uk,se,ru -option grp:switch,grp:ctrl_shift_toggle
[sudo] password for hanna:
Error loading new keyboard description

Am I being stupid.... or are our machines working differently for some reason?
Could it be different for MATE?
tolkien
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:50 am

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by tolkien »

Because you need to use "gb", not "uk". Also, see the link I pasted above.
User avatar
martienne
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Northern EU

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by martienne »

Edit: I AM being stupid for sure!
There was a really nice menu for it in Cinammon so no need for any commands!
In fact, the selection of shortcuts is better than Windows, although I prefer to stick with the one that I am used to.

Då säger jag: Спасибо всем!
tolkien
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:50 am

Re: Keyboard combination for switching language input / layo

Post by tolkien »

You are welcome, have fun using Linux.
: )
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”