Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3478
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by AZgl1500 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:56 am

Code: Select all


Filesystem     1K-blocks    Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2      476063800 4937876 446920256   2% /
none                   4       0         4   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
udev             1948152       4   1948148   1% /dev
tmpfs             392840    1556    391284   1% /run
none                5120       0      5120   0% /run/lock
none             1964188     668   1963520   1% /run/shm
none              102400      20    102380   1% /run/user
/dev/sda1         523248    3456    519792   1% /boot/efi
I have a friend who is using a different version of Linux and he is thoroughly pissed that Mint did not create a /HOME partition which he says "relegates Mint to the Dung Heap".

here is how his system is setup.

Code: Select all

[ken@localhost bin]$ df
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs        3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs           3.9G  2.9M  3.9G   1% /dev/shm
tmpfs           3.9G  744K  3.9G   1% /run                                                                                                  
/dev/sda7        42G   32G  7.2G  82% /                                                                                                     
tmpfs           3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup                                                                                        
tmpfs           3.9G   56K  3.9G   1% /tmp                                                                                                  
/dev/sda6       866G  697G  125G  85% /mnt/data                                                                                             
/dev/sda1       471M   20M  423M   5% /boot                                                                                                 
/dev/sda8       460G  195G  266G  43% /home                                                                                                 
tmpfs           799M   16K  799M   1% /run/user/500                                                                                         
[ken@localhost bin]$

so, back to the crux of my question, why is there no /HOME in Cinnamon?

I am a 73 y/o retired died in the wool Windows user, IT support tech... this is my very first time to work with Linux, so be gentle.

the only reason I am using Linux at all, is because my friend has been pushing me for a couple of years now to try it out. I chose the Cinnamon version because it most closely resembled Windows.... and he is annoyed that I did not choose a "Real Linux distro".

anyone?
Last edited by AZgl1500 on Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Dec 31, 2015 6:18 am

A home partition gets created during installation, if you choose in the installer the "something else" method and advice the installer to create a home partition and set a mount point for it.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9178
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Moem » Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:04 am

Your friend seems rather opiniated! If he cares so much about having a separate /home partition, he should have taken the time to set one up.
Personally I prefer it that way too, and while i do agree that it would be a great option or even default to have in the installer, it's perfectly possible to create it by hand. Since he's an experienced Linux user, he shouldn't have had any trouble there. Maybe he's angry at himself for overlooking it during install. :wink:

Mint with Cinnamon is a great OS, there's no reason to disparage it for such a small thing. I think you'll like it just fine.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
Radish
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 11:20 pm

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Radish » Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:21 am

I'm puzzled by this. AZgl1500 provides the following information on partitions:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda8       460G  195G  266G  43% /home
By my reading that means he does have a separate /home partition. Maybe it's not mounted or something.

In any case, a query of my own. AZgl1500 also has the following:

Code: Select all

devtmpfs        3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev
tmpfs           3.9G  2.9M  3.9G   1% /dev/shm
tmpfs           3.9G  744K  3.9G   1% /run 
tmpfs           3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup                                                                                       
tmpfs           3.9G   56K  3.9G   1% /tmp 
tmpfs           799M   16K  799M   1% /run/user/500
What is "tmpfs"? And are all these also separate partitions?
Mint 17.3 x64 Cinnamon - Rosa
When stating what version of Mint you are using remember to include the "Edition". Is it "Cinnamon", "Mate", "KDE" or "XFCE"? This helps others help you.

cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1242
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by cwsnyder » Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:43 am

@Radish, tmpfs is the temporary file system, not a partition.
The second column from the left simply shows where the column to the far right has been mounted. If mounted to tempfs, then the mount point goes away when the machine is shut down. It is only a separate partition if the left column looks something like /dev/sdaX, /dev/sdYX, or /dev/hdYX where Y stands for a small case alphabetic character [a,b,c, . . ,z] corresponding to the order in which devices are found by the init system and X is a number [1,2, . .,10,11, . .,99] corresponding to the partitions found when booting.

I concur, the listing does have a separate /home partition on /dev/sda8.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM17.3 Cinnamon 64-bit
Debian Mate 64-bit, Xubuntu xenial 64-bit, Ubuntu-Mate 14.04 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS Mate 64-bit

User avatar
Radish
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 11:20 pm

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Radish » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:21 am

AZgl1500, you do have a separate /home partition - it is shown in the listing you provided. Why you cannot see it I do not know, I don't have enough expertise. However, you do not have a /HOME partition. In Linux (unlike Windows) upper-casing and lower-casing of names is important. /HOME does not equal /home, THISFILE does not equal thisfile nor does it equal ThisFile - and so on.

Give Mint a chance AZgl1500. You won't be disappointed if you give it a fair go, just don't expect it to be Windows. For a pure newbie to Mint I found this book very helpful and well worth the cost: Linux Mint Essentials If you don't want to spend that kind of money on hardcopy you can get it cheaply as an ebook: Linux Mint Essentials eBook
Last edited by Radish on Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint 17.3 x64 Cinnamon - Rosa
When stating what version of Mint you are using remember to include the "Edition". Is it "Cinnamon", "Mate", "KDE" or "XFCE"? This helps others help you.

George99
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 10:59 am

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by George99 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:21 am

Radish wrote:I'm puzzled by this. AZgl1500 provides the following information on partitions:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda8       460G  195G  266G  43% /home
By my reading that means he does have a separate /home partition.
No, this is the setup of his friend's Linux installation.

btw I prefer a seperate /home partition too:

Code: Select all

Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            3.9G  4.0K  3.9G   1% /dev
tmpfs           799M  1.5M  797M   1% /run
/dev/sda1        15G  6.9G  7.3G  49% /
none            4.0K     0  4.0K   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
none            5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
none            3.9G  130M  3.8G   4% /run/shm
none            100M   12K  100M   1% /run/user
/dev/sda5       212G  103G   99G  51% /home
It's so much easier to reinstall Mint when you don't have to safe and restore your personal files and settings.

User avatar
Radish
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 11:20 pm

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Radish » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:28 am

Ouch! You're right George.
here is how HIS system is setup.
Back to English reading classes for me. :oops:
Mint 17.3 x64 Cinnamon - Rosa
When stating what version of Mint you are using remember to include the "Edition". Is it "Cinnamon", "Mate", "KDE" or "XFCE"? This helps others help you.

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by austin.texas » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:39 am

Radish wrote:I'm puzzled by this. AZgl1500 provides the following information on partitions:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda8       460G  195G  266G  43% /home
By my reading that means he does have a separate /home partition. Maybe it's not mounted or something.
The fact that a separate /home partition exists does not mean that it is part of the current Mint installation. It could be a /home created by a previous Mint (or other distro), although that is probably not the case, if I had to guess.
It is certainly not mounted.

AZgl1500, please post the results of the commands:

Code: Select all

inxi -pou
and

Code: Select all

cat /etc/fstab
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

User avatar
Radish
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 11:20 pm

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Radish » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:51 am

Austin, I made a mistake. The partition information that AZgl1500 provided was of his friend's computer, not his own. Sorry for the mix-up.
Mint 17.3 x64 Cinnamon - Rosa
When stating what version of Mint you are using remember to include the "Edition". Is it "Cinnamon", "Mate", "KDE" or "XFCE"? This helps others help you.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7069
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Flemur » Thu Dec 31, 2015 12:19 pm

I have a friend who is using a different version of Linux and he is thoroughly pissed that Mint did not create a /HOME partition which he says "relegates Mint to the Dung Heap".
Other than suggesting that you use linux, it sounds like he's full of bad ideas.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 19.1 Xfce/fluxbox
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3478
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by AZgl1500 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:44 pm

Cosmo. wrote:A home partition gets created during installation, if you choose in the installer the "something else" method and advice the installer to create a home partition and set a mount point for it.
1st, a clarification: /HOME was me writing it in all caps for emphasis... a newbie mistake...

also my friend lives in Vancouver, Canada and I live in Tulsa, Oklahoma area... we are conversing through our motorcycle forum.. www.goldwingfacts.com of which I am a Moderator. We talk about a lot of things on our forum, even the subject of Harley Davidson motorcycles :)

2nd, my laptop does not have a DVD drive, I had to create a Flash stick, and the 'BIOS' is a stinker. ...
I have worked with BIOS settings for decades and never ran into a mess like on this PC/laptop.

the Boot order settings refuse to stay like I want them. It is UEFI, and even though I choose "Boot Over-ride" it ignores that and boots the hard drive instead. I messed with it for days before I stumbled across the certain setting that allowed it to boot up only once and present me with a menu? DVD or USB or Hard drive. After that one boot and install of 17.3 the BIOS reset itself to the way it was before... it has to be something about the Secure Boot thing, but I tried to turn that OFF.

that time I chose the USB flash stick and it installed 17.3 and the "only option" that was presented me was "create a password".

I was never asked to set up partitions or anything, it just ran on full automatic, right up to the point to where it said "shutting down now" and it hung........... that was the end of it, right there....
I was never asked to remove the Flash drive and reboot the computer.
I had to use the Force Shutdown by holding the Power Button until the BIOS timed out and killed the laptop.

so, there I am.... will get the other questions with separtate quotes to keep everything straight

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3478
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by AZgl1500 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:56 pm

austin.texas wrote:
AZgl1500, please post the results of the commands:

Code: Select all

inxi -pou
and

Code: Select all

cat /etc/fstab

Code: Select all

john@john-TP500LA ~ $ inxi -pou
Partition: ID-1: / size: 455G used: 4.8G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           uuid: 99a8df91-5ce8-47e6-90e1-200a51892012
           ID-2: /boot/efi size: 511M used: 3.4M (1%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/sda1
           uuid: 51B6-63A3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.17GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
           uuid: d87a947f-5fcd-4faa-99b9-111d93bf4f0e
Unmounted: No unmounted partitions detected


Code: Select all

john@john-TP500LA ~ $ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda2 during installation
UUID=99a8df91-5ce8-47e6-90e1-200a51892012 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# /boot/efi was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=51B6-63A3  /boot/efi       vfat    defaults        0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda3 during installation
UUID=d87a947f-5fcd-4faa-99b9-111d93bf4f0e none            swap    sw              0       0
john@john-TP500LA ~ $ 
hope I did that right....

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by austin.texas » Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:09 pm

From one old retired scooter tramp to another... that works. Thanks
Am I correct that John now wants to change the configuration so that /home is on a separate partition?

You have the option to set up a separate /data partition instead of a separate /home partition - http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1609
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:15 pm

AZgl1500 wrote:
Cosmo. wrote:I was never asked to set up partitions or anything
Let us try to clear this up.

If you run the installer you should get
  • the language selector
    a dialog which tells about the prerequisites
    a page with different installation methods, the last one is the said "something else" method, with this method an additional dialog appears where you can define the partitions
    a selector for your location
    a selector for your keyboard
    and only then the dialog which lets you enter your name, the machine's name, your password and the method for logging in
Do you say, that nothing of that appears except the last?
Did you download the ISO image from the official site? Did you check the md5 sum?

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3478
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by AZgl1500 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:24 pm

M0em wrote:Your friend seems rather opiniated! If he cares so much about having a separate /home partition, he should have taken the time to set one up.
Personally I prefer it that way too, and while i do agree that it would be a great option or even default to have in the installer, it's perfectly possible to create it by hand. Since he's an experienced Linux user, he shouldn't have had any trouble there. Maybe he's angry at himself for overlooking it during install. :wink:

Mint with Cinnamon is a great OS, there's no reason to disparage it for such a small thing. I think you'll like it just fine.
His name is Ken. He lives in Canada, and we are using my m/c forum to get thru this... he has been on Linux sounds like mercedes?? Mageia Linux for 15+ years.... he has never used Windows at all. and yes, he is very opinionated to the point he sometimes pisses me off.

but, you learn to let the crapola run off your back, and get on with life. He has been a big help "most of the time".

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9178
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Moem » Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:31 pm

AZgl1500 wrote:yes, he is very opinionated
Ah yes, thank you, that was the word. I knew my version didn't sound quite right.
Anyway, now that you've found us, you may over time become your own 'friend who's good with computers'. :D
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
Radish
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 11:20 pm

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Radish » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:49 pm

Seems that Mageia Linux will automatically create a separate /home partition during install in most, but not all, cases: Mageia Linux Automatic Partitioning However, manual partitioning is still available.
Mint 17.3 x64 Cinnamon - Rosa
When stating what version of Mint you are using remember to include the "Edition". Is it "Cinnamon", "Mate", "KDE" or "XFCE"? This helps others help you.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9178
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by Moem » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:58 pm

Fedora does this, too. It's clearly something that some distros do by default, and others only if the user so chooses.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3478
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Why did 17.3 Cinnamon not create the std directories?

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 9:19 pm

Cosmo. wrote:
AZgl1500 wrote:
Cosmo. wrote:I was never asked to set up partitions or anything
Let us try to clear this up.

If you run the installer you should get
  • the language selector
    a dialog which tells about the prerequisites
    a page with different installation methods, the last one is the said "something else" method, with this method an additional dialog appears where you can define the partitions
    a selector for your location
    a selector for your keyboard
    and only then the dialog which lets you enter your name, the machine's name, your password and the method for logging in
Do you say, that nothing of that appears except the last?
Did you download the ISO image from the official site? Did you check the md5 sum?

I finally got the laptop to boot reliably "everytime" from a USB port.
I went thru many repetitive installs to see what different options came up.

I did once, click on Something Else:
but, was presented with a 'blank slate' and had no idea what to do with any of it...

so, I just backed out, and let it install automatically once again...

it is all running smoothly, no problems. I have decided that I don't need a separate partition, and will just use Rosa 17.3 Cinnamon just like it came out of the box.

Later, after a few months of use, or when I feel a bit more easy with Linux, then I might create a new partition and set it up as /data or /home... depending on IF, the chance of running Windows ever comes up again.... I doubt it, I have a nice, fast Win7 Desktop and it takes care of everything.

all I want this laptop to do, is cruise the internet with ease, be reliable, and let me learn Linux at my own pace.

I am dabbling a bit, with different aspects of Linux each night... like turning off the damn Mousepad when I am typing.... I hate it when the cursor suddenly jumps up into the middle of text that has already been written, and I am typing at 120 wpm and don't notice that it moved... that creates on hell of a mess.

also, getting rid of all of those requirements for a password if it goes to sleep. It will never be out of my hands, it does not need any security measures. Nor, will it ever have any of my finances on it. Evernote won't run on Linux, so they screwed the pooch there, as that is where all of my important info is stored.... works with Android phones, so why not Linux?

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”