TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista(solved)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista(solved)

Post by va852 »

Hello everybody! Recently I installed Linuxmint kde on the second drive successfully. Reconnected windows HDD, printer, scanner, external storage and then in Linux Mint opened a terminal, typed command: sudo update-grub. That has to register windows in the GRUB boot manager. When I booted computer next time I expected to see a screen letting me choose between booting Linux or Windows, but it did not happened. I’ve got this:
Generating grub configuration file...
Warning: Setting GRUB_TIMEOUT to a non-zero value when GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT is set is no longer supported.
Found Linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.19.0-32-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.19.0-32-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
No volume groups found
Found Dell Utility Partition on /dev/sda1
Found Windows Vista (LOADER) on /dev/sda3
done
Please Help, why this happened and what I have to do to see screen with two option Windows or Linux.
Thanks in advance!
Last edited by va852 on Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

Do you get a grub menu or does it just directly boot to mint without any choices :?:
ImageImage
User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10944
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by Pierre »

generally speaking, the grub menu will usually show two windows systems:
- one is the recovery system
- one is the actual windows system.

it's handy to have both, anyway,
- sometimes you do want to restore the windows system - back to factory default.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

It's just directly boot to mint without any choices. Yes, I need both OS system in welcome screen!
I can't restore the windows system - back to factory default. There is tons of informations, applications, Photo images, Adobe Photo shop, music files and so on…170 GB used. I afraid to loose it. And later I have to move some of it to Linux.
Now, in my previous posts I click EDIT and tried to type (solved) in front of topic, but for some reason I could type only 3 letters. The subject box don't except all word. I can not close this topic.
Thanks to all of you!
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

va852 wrote:It's just directly boot to mint without any choices. Yes, I need both OS system in welcome screen!
Try holding down the right-shift key when booting

or another thing to try is opening the file /etc/default/grub and add GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu" followed by

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
then reboot

Good luck :wink:
ImageImage
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

NO any Luck! "command not found" and right shift key does not do anything.
Any more Ideas? :roll:
Thanks!
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

va852 wrote:NO any Luck! "command not found" and right shift key does not do anything.
Any more Ideas? :roll:
Thanks!
What gave you "command not found" :?:

What does this return

Code: Select all

grep STYLE /etc/default/grub
and

Code: Select all

grep ^menuentry /boot/grub/grub.cfg
ImageImage
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

sudo: udate-grub/etc/default/grub: command not found
va852@va852-Dell-DM061:~ > sudo update-grub /etc/default/grub GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu"
Generating grub configuration file ...
Warning: Setting GRUB_TIMEOUT to a non-zero value when GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT is set is no longer supported.
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.19.0-32-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.19.0-32-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
No volume groups found
Found Dell Utility Partition on /dev/sda1
Found Windows Vista (loader) on /dev/sda3
done
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12046
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by austin.texas »

va852 wrote:sudo: udate-grub/etc/default/grub: command not found
That is not the command that was given by WharfRat. The command was "sudo update-grub".
Copy the command.
Click on "SELECT ALL" - that selects it. Then copy it with right-click > Copy
Then paste in your terminal with right-click > Paste

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

Is this correct?
va852@va852-Dell-DM061:~ > sudo update-grub
[sudo] password for va852:
Generating grub configuration file ...
Warning: Setting GRUB_TIMEOUT to a non-zero value when GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT is set is no longer supported.
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.19.0-32-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.19.0-32-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.elf
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
No volume groups found
Found Dell Utility Partition on /dev/sda1
Found Windows Vista (loader) on /dev/sda3
done
va852@va852-Dell-DM061:~ >
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

Did you add GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu" to /etc/default/grub :?:

If not running update-grub isn't going to do anything
ImageImage
marvinudy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:24 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by marvinudy »

va852,

Sounds like you set Mint to 'auto start' without entering a password. Try booting the machine and using F-12 or F-11 to get to the 'boot selection' menu. Choose the drive where Vista is installed and it shoul launch.

marvinudy
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12046
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by austin.texas »

You have to open /etc/default/grub in your text editor.

Code: Select all

kdesudo kate /etc/default/grub

Make the change:

Code: Select all

GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu"
Then save and exit, and update Grub:

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

To WarfRut: In last replay which I copied from console I do not see “/etc/default/grub “ any where.
If it possible to give me more specific way or full command?

To Marvinudy: Last 16 years I use only Ms Windows, I am not in any network, I only one personal user of this computer and like in windows I select to start automatically without any passwords.
Maybe it's wrong decision? I don't now. I desperately have to get reed of Ms windows and I first time try to correctly install Linux. I need duel boot system on this computer and I knew this possible.
Thanks for respond!
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

What does this return - paste back the results

Code: Select all

ls -lh /etc/default/grub
ImageImage
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12046
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by austin.texas »

va852 wrote: In last replay which I copied from console I do not see “/etc/default/grub “ any where.
If it possible to give me more specific way or full command?
I gave you the answer to that question -
austin.texas wrote:You have to open /etc/default/grub in your text editor.

Code: Select all

kdesudo kate /etc/default/grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

I hop is what are you looking for.

va852@va852-Dell-DM061:~ > kdesudo kate /etc/default/grub GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu"
Bus::open: Can not get ibus-daemon's address.
IBusInputContext::createInputContext: no connection to ibus-daemon
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
kbuildsycoca4 running...
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QInotifyFileSystemWatcherEngine::addPaths: inotify_add_watch failed: No such file or directory
QFileSystemWatcher: failed to add paths: /root/.config/ibus/bus
Bus::open: Can not get ibus-daemon's address.
IBusInputContext::createInputContext: no connection to ibus-daemon
QInotifyFileSystemWatcherEngine::addPaths: inotify_add_watch failed: No such file or directory
QFileSystemWatcher: failed to add paths: /root/.kde/share/config/activitymanager-pluginsrc
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

Does this do it

Code: Select all

for e in kate gedit pluma;do if test -e /usr/bin/$e;then sudo $e  /etc/default/grub;fi;done
ImageImage
va852
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by va852 »

What is next. I have this one:
va852@va852-Dell-DM061:~ > for e in kate gedit pluma;do if test -e /usr/bin/$e;then sudo $e /etc/default/grub;fi;done
[sudo] password for va852:
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-va852" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Error: "/tmp/kde-va852" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Bus::open: Can not get ibus-daemon's address.
IBusInputContext::createInputContext: no connection to ibus-daemon

And in grub-Kate:

# If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
# /boot/grub/grub.cfg.
# For full documentation of the options in this file, see:
# info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'

GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

# Uncomment to enable BadRAM filtering, modify to suit your needs
# This works with Linux (no patch required) and with any kernel that obtains
# the memory map information from GRUB (GNU Mach, kernel of FreeBSD ...)
#GRUB_BADRAM="0x01234567,0xfefefefe,0x89abcdef,0xefefefef"

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
#GRUB_TERMINAL=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
#GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

# Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
#GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true"

# Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
#GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"

What is next. :?:
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: TWO HDD with OS systems Linux and Vista

Post by WharfRat »

You have some other problems here :?

If the /etc/default/grub file is open in kate or whatever editor then add this line

Code: Select all

 GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu"
above the current line GRUB_DEFAULT=0, save it and run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Also what do these return

Code: Select all

ls -lhd /var/tmp/ 

Code: Select all

ls -lhd /tmp/
ImageImage
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”