Problems when using dist-upgrade

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Fpooi5
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:31 am

Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Fpooi5 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:36 am

I have mint 17.3 x64.

When I try to run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
many of my essential packages will be removed, here is the output:

Code: Select all

 The following packages will be REMOVED:
    
      acetoneiso akonadi-backend-mysql akonadi-server amarok amarok-utils
      apt-clone apt-rdepends apt-transport-https apt-utils apt-xapian-index
      aptdaemon aptik aptitude apturl apturl-common aria2 ark audacity avidemux
      avidemux-plugins-common avidemux-plugins-qt avidemux-qt banshee bleachbit
      bluez-cups bomi brackets brasero brasero-cdrkit brltty cairo-dock
      cairo-dock-core cairo-dock-plug-ins
      cairo-dock-plug-ins-dbus-interface-python cairo-dock-plug-ins-integration
      calibre calibre-bin cdrdao chromium-browser cinnamon cinnamon-screensaver
      cjs clamav clamav-daemon clamav-freshclam clamtk clementine click click-dev
      cmake command-not-found compiz compiz-core compiz-gnome compiz-plugins
      compiz-plugins-default cordova-ubuntu-2.8 cpp-4.7 cups cups-filters
      cups-ppdc default-jre default-jre-headless dolphin dvdrip dvgrab empathy
      empathy-skype encfs enchant eog evince fcitx-frontend-gtk3 fcitx-module-dbus
      fcitx-modules filezilla firefox flamerobin flashplugin-installer flowblade
      flpsed fluxbox frei0r-plugins friends friends-dispatcher g++-4.9 gcc-4.7
      gcc-4.9 gdc-4.9 gdebi gdebi-core geany geany-plugin-addons
      geany-plugin-codenav geany-plugin-debugger geany-plugin-devhelp
      geany-plugin-doc geany-plugin-extrasel geany-plugin-gendoc
      geany-plugin-geniuspaste geany-plugin-gproject geany-plugin-insertnum
      geany-plugin-latex geany-plugin-lipsum geany-plugin-lua geany-plugin-macro
      geany-plugin-miniscript geany-plugin-multiterm
      geany-plugin-numberedbookmarks geany-plugin-pg geany-plugin-prettyprinter
      geany-plugin-prj geany-plugin-sendmail geany-plugin-shiftcolumn
      geany-plugin-spellcheck geany-plugin-tableconvert geany-plugin-treebrowser
      geany-plugin-updatechecker geany-plugin-vc geany-plugin-webhelper
      geany-plugin-xmlsnippets geany-plugins geany-plugins-common gedit gem
      geoip-bin gimp gimp-ufraw gir1.2-dee-1.0 gir1.2-evince-3.0 gir1.2-unity-5.0
      gir1.2-webkit-3.0 gir1.2-webkit2-3.0 gjs gnome-encfs-manager gnome-subtitles
      gnome-sushi gnome-system-monitor goldendict gparted grub-customizer
      gsmartcontrol gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse
      gstreamer0.10-plugins-good gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly
      gstreamer1.0-plugins-bad gstreamer1.0-plugins-bad-faad
      gstreamer1.0-plugins-bad-videoparsers gstreamer1.0-plugins-good
      gstreamer1.0-plugins-ugly gtk2-engines-oxygen gtk3-engines-oxygen gtkpod
      gufw handbrake hexchat hplip hydrogen ia32-libs icedtea-7-jre-jamvm
      icedtea-7-plugin inkscape iperf jackd kaddressbook kate katepart
      kde-config-gtk-style kde-runtime kde-style-oxygen kde-style-qtcurve
      kde-thumbnailer-openoffice kde-window-manager kde-window-manager-common
      kdebase-runtime kdegraphics-thumbnailers kdelibs-bin kdelibs5-plugins
      kdepim-runtime kdepimlibs-kio-plugins kdesudo kdoctools keepassx
      khelpcenter4 kmenuedit kodi kodi-bin konsole ksysguard kwin-style-qtcurve
      language-selector-common language-selector-gnome libaccounts-qt1 
      ....
    
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      foomatic-filters
    The following packages have been kept back:
      gcc-4.9-base gcc-4.9-base:i386 libgcc1 libgcc1:i386
    0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 980 to remove and 4 not upgraded.

The problem seems to be with

Code: Select all

gcc-4.9-base gcc-4.9-base:i386 libgcc1 libgcc1:i386
packages.
I tried to run

Code: Select all

ppa-purge
for all my ppas that contained come reference to those packages but had no luck.

Could you help me, please?

Thanks

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9370
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Moem » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:16 am

It's better to use the GUI.

The commands "apt upgrade" and "apt dist-upgrade" are not recommended, because upgrades may introduce new problems for your specific hardware. Both of these commands blindly upgrade all packages and do not respect the different update levels. It is recommend to use Update Manager instead, where you can selectively apply upgrades, and in the default settings the upgrades that would carry such risks are not shown (level 4 and 5).
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Fpooi5
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:31 am

Re: Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Fpooi5 » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:30 am

M0em wrote:It's better to use the GUI.

The commands "apt upgrade" and "apt dist-upgrade" are not recommended, because upgrades may introduce new problems for your specific hardware. Both of these commands blindly upgrade all packages and do not respect the different update levels. It is recommend to use Update Manager instead, where you can selectively apply upgrades, and in the default settings the upgrades that would carry such risks are not shown (level 4 and 5).
Ok thanks, so I will not use those commands.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9370
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Moem » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:39 am

Glad to help! (And thanks to Xenopeek, because this information comes from a posting he made.)

The GUI in Mint is really quite powerful and gives you great control over a lot of features. If you've used other distros before, that may take some getting used to. Happy Minting!
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Mute Ant
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5135
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: Norfolk UK

Re: Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Mute Ant » Tue Mar 01, 2016 7:20 am

I think the Update Manager in Mint 17.3 has a Foreign Packages button to reverse the effects of PPA software and reset the repository to a standard Mint...can't be sure I am working with LMDE right now.
While you're waiting, read the free novel we sent you. It's a Spanish story about a guy named "manual".

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9370
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Moem » Tue Mar 01, 2016 7:32 am

True! It can be found in Update Manager => Edit => Software Sources => Maintenance.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Problems when using dist-upgrade

Post by Cosmo. » Tue Mar 01, 2016 7:35 am

Mute Ant wrote:I think the Update Manager in Mint 17.3 has a Foreign Packages button to reverse the effects of PPA software and reset the repository to a standard Mint...can't be sure I am working with LMDE right now.
What you likely mean are the 2 rather new buttons (since LM 17.2) in the maintenance section of the software sources, but their function is a little bit different than to reset the repository.
Simply deactivating or deleting the PPAs in the software sources is enough to prevent any updates from those sources getting shown.
After that you can use those buttons to either remove the packages from those sources or replace them with packages from the official resources (if they exist).

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”