Alternatives to Caja?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
jrioux
Level 1
Level 1

Alternatives to Caja?

Post by jrioux »

I'm a newbie using Mint 17.3 and while I like aspects of Caja, other things don't quite cut it for me. Alternatively, I just may not know Caja well enough.

Anyway, I've used Total Commander (TC) for years in Windows and would like to either configure Caja to act more like TC or find an alternative that does. At a minimum, I'm looking for the following for the following abilities:

1 - to easily select multiple files (in TC you can select a group of file by mousing over them with the right button pressed)
2 - to use copied text when renaming a file (when I try pasting into or over a filename in Caja, I get a copy of the file where I got the text)
3 - to rename multiple files at the same time (TC has very flexible and powerful Multi-Rename Tool)

I also want the alternative file manager to be able to copy files to and from phones and tablets that are attached to my computer with a USB cable.

Thanks.

Jerry

LinuxJim
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Alternatives to Caja?

Post by LinuxJim »

jrioux wrote: I've used Total Commander (TC) for years in Windows and would like to either configure Caja to act more like TC or find an alternative that does.
You could try gnome-commander or double-commander. They both work very similarly to Total Commander. For the command line, there is also Midnight Commander.

jrioux
Level 1
Level 1

Post by jrioux »

Thanks. Have you used either gnome-commander or double-commander, Jim?