Page 1 of 1

Reseting Bios

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:48 am
by Georgia boy
I've got a question for you on bios settings and Mint. I've read in some forums on bios where Windows 8 or 8.1 has a setting where you can adjust the bios from there. Is that something that is done here also? Reason for this is I was testing some Live DVD's one night. One booted right up. One booted to a spot asking for password. Couldn't remember and tried to get out of it. Wound up taking dvd out of drive and rebooting machine. Tried other one again and worked. Next night I tried them again after finding the password for that one. Machine booted right into Mint instead of the disk drive first. Kept trying with same results. At first thought something wrong with drive but went into bios and found that the setting was for HD to boot first.

Since I hadn't messed with the bios settings and after reading about Windows having that capability I got to wondering if Mint does and that I might had messed with that setting w/o knowing it would change bios to boot straight to HD OS.

Does Mint have that capability to do this? I'm using Latest Mint Xfce.

Thanks

Re: Reseting Bios

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:38 am
by Fred Barclay
I don't believe that Mint has that capability.
Actually, I didn't know Windows did either. Guess I've fallen behind times... :lol:

Re: Reseting Bios

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:59 am
by Pierre
the windows system itself can't do that,
but some software programs that do run on the windows platform can indeed to that.

there probably won't be any Linux based programs that can do that, though.

Re: Reseting Bios

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:42 pm
by Georgia boy
I forgot what forum I was reading that in. I was researching the issue I was having when I came across that bit about someone being told in Win 8.1 to go to their start button and pull up something and go into bios to reset something. Couldn't believe it. So got to wondering if something like that was in Mint and other distros also.
Wasn't sure if doable or not so thought would ask. Still trying to figure out what the heck happened with mine getting reset like that. Someone told me that it could have had some kind of surge to it and caused a glitch. But at least now I know that if I'm trying out a 'Live' DVD sometime later and it boots straight to the installed OS to go and check if the bios settings got reset again somehow.

Re: Reseting Bios

Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:22 pm
by Dngrsone
In certain instances, you can alter your UEFI settings from within Windows.

On Toshiba laptops, for instance, about the only way to get into the UEFI setup is via Windows (shift-restart, advanced settings IIRC).

Toshiba also does this thing where no matter what, Windows will boot when you try to do multiple-OS installation. Took me quite a while to figure out what they were doing.

Re: Reseting Bios

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:27 am
by Georgia boy
That had to suck. Glad you were able to figure out what was going on with that Windows booting constantly like that. I'm glad I got rid of Windows. Now that I had given back my company laptop I don't ahve any Windows system to come into the house. :D
Just not needed.