Page 1 of 1

Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:03 pm
by blackoutworm
sudo update-grub
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-21-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-21-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.19.0-32-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.19.0-32-generic
No volume groups found
Adding boot menu entry for EFI firmware configuration
done
I just saw this error. Is this going to become a problem as soon as I reboot?

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 8:51 pm
by WharfRat
That's more of an informational message, not an error.

If you don't have any volume groups then you can just ignore it.

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:03 am
by blackoutworm
Thank you. So what's a volume group?

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:57 am
by WharfRat
blackoutworm wrote:Thank you. So what's a volume group?
Put simply it's combining physical disk volumes to appear as one, e.g., combining sda, sdb and sdc each 2TB in size to appear as 6TB continuous volume.

There are also other advantages as described here https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LVM

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:58 am
by MajorMuff
WharfRat wrote:
blackoutworm wrote:Thank you. So what's a volume group?
Put simply it's combining physical disk volumes to appear as one, e.g., combining sda, sdb and sdc each 2TB in size to appear as 6TB continuous volume.

There are also other advantages as described here https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/LVM
Does this mean it functions as RAID0 would?

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 9:08 am
by WharfRat
You can set it up as linear or striped which is a RAID 0

Code: Select all

bill@4700 ~ $ sudo lvdisplay -C --segments
  LV     VG   Attr      #Str Type    SSize  
  home   vg0  -wi-ao---    2 striped  16.00g
  root   vg0  -wi-ao---    2 striped  16.00g
  shared vg0  -wi-ao---    2 striped 260.00g
  swap   vg0  -wi-ao---    2 striped   4.00g
bill@4700 ~ $ 

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 9:11 am
by MajorMuff
Cool! Thanks for the info :)

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:25 pm
by blackoutworm
Hi again.
I rebooted. But I shouldn't have done that.
My computer is now stuck at the motherboard logo screen.
I can't access bios. If I press the comma key, the keyboard freezes.
It's a ASUS X555LA-DM1448T.
I've just installed Mint 17. And this whole thing happened after I did an apt-get upgrade and said YES to replace the grub configuration file and some other files.
I didn't know what to do because it asked, so i thought "what the hey, why not".
Apparently, it messed up grub due to UEFI or something. According to my google research, that's what it was.
I honestly have no idea.
Any idea how I can fix this?

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:45 pm
by WharfRat
It appears that something went awry here, but I doubt it had anything to do with volume groups :?
My computer is now stuck at the motherboard logo screen.
I can't access bios. If I press the comma key, the keyboard freezes.
Is the comma key some special function key during boot :?:

Can you boot the mint installation media :?:

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:47 pm
by blackoutworm
WharfRat wrote:It appears that something went awry here, but I doubt it had anything to do with volume groups :?
My computer is now stuck at the motherboard logo screen.
I can't access bios. If I press the comma key, the keyboard freezes.
Is the comma key some special function key during boot :?:

Can you boot the mint installation media :?:
Well. Like I said, it's stuck at the Motherboard splash screen (the ASUS logo).
So no I can obviously not boot the mint installation media.
And the comma key is the one I use to launch the BIOS.

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:08 pm
by WharfRat
blackoutworm wrote: Well. Like I said, it's stuck at the Motherboard splash screen (the ASUS logo).
So no I can obviously not boot the mint installation media.
And the comma key is the one I use to launch the BIOS.
That sounds like the mb went bad or something. Also, I've never heard of the comma key being used for the BIOS setup screen, but then again I've never used an Asus computer.

Any machine I've ever used had a function key like F10, F12 etc. for the boot menu and bios setup :?

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:24 pm
by blackoutworm
I can use F12 or comma. Same function.
Both makes the keyboard "freeze".
If anyone know what to do here, please help.
According to all my googleing, this is a common problem on this ASUS series.
Apparently, I have to reset the BIOS.
Is there a way I can do this without removing the battery? Because this laptop case is very clunky and I have to unscrew, remove the keyboard and do a ton of scary stuff.
Please help!

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:30 pm
by WharfRat
I don't know what to suggest here, but when I just googled "reset asus bios laptop" it refereed to pressing the F2 key when the "Asus" logo appears.

If your research indicated that you must pull the battery then that's what you're going to have to do.

Good luck :wink:

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:35 pm
by blackoutworm
Thanks but pressing any key makes the keyboard freeze.
So no use.
Guess I gonna have to contact ASUS or something.

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:43 pm
by zaileion
This link explains how to reset CMOS aka BIOS on Asus motherboards.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.p ... ng-methods

since it is a laptop you will most likely have to remove the back cover and remove the BIOS battery for a few minutes then put it back in. looks like a huge watch battery, sometimes they are covered in plastic with a few small wires coming off. be careful laptop hardware is more delicate than workstation hardware.

Re: Grub error "No volume groups found"

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 8:38 am
by blackoutworm
Thank you Zaileion.
I'll give it a shot. But won't that reset to factory settings? I don't wanna do that.
I tried draining the battery by having the PC on and unplugged over night, but it didn't work.
I can't believe they make it this complicated.
I've only had the laptop for like a week, and then this happens.
Very disappointing.