how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
DarkLotus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:11 pm

how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by DarkLotus »

I guess that's the name. I'm having troubles with my new graphics card, tryed installing new drivers, now it won't boot.

I'm trying recovery mode, but it doesn't show minimal graphics option

https://imgur.com/BPBuISK

User avatar
DarkLotus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by DarkLotus »

This is what happens when I try to boot in normal https://youtu.be/PNsvO0smStE

Mute Ant
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5135
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: Norfolk UK

Re: how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by Mute Ant »

Stop the media stuff already. Where's your inxi output? Before you post please read how to get help ->>http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=83444
While you're waiting, read the free novel we sent you. It's a Spanish story about a guy named "manual".

User avatar
DarkLotus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by DarkLotus »

What media stuff? You mean the video?

crookedmouth
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 6:27 pm

Re: how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by crookedmouth »

The video really doesn't tell much. What video card? What driver did you install? From recovery, you can boot to command line and hopefully just go back to the drivers that work.

User avatar
DarkLotus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by DarkLotus »

inxi

[1;34mSystem: [0;37m [1;34mHost:[0;37m Pedro-PC [1;34mKernel:[0;37m 3.19.0-32-generic x86_64 (64 bit [1;34mgcc:[0;37m 4.8.2) [1;34mConsole:[0;37m tty[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mDistro:[0;37m Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa[0;37m
[1;34mMachine: [0;37m [1;34mMobo:[0;37m Intel [1;34mmodel:[0;37m DH67BL [1;34mv:[0;37m AAG10189-208[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mBios:[0;37m Intel [1;34mv:[0;37m BLH6710H.86A.0119.2011.0523.1030 [1;34mdate:[0;37m 05/23/2011[0;37m
[1;34mCPU: [0;37m [1;34mQuad core[0;37m Intel Core i7-2600 (-HT-MCP-)[0;37m [1;34mcache:[0;37m 8192 KB[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mflags:[0;37m (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) [1;34mbmips:[0;37m 27139[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mclock speeds:[0;37m [1;34mmax:[0;37m 3800 MHz [1;34m1:[0;37m 3496 MHz [1;34m2:[0;37m 3667 MHz [1;34m3:[0;37m 3675 MHz [1;34m4:[0;37m 3293 MHz [1;34m5:[0;37m 3674 MHz[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34m6:[0;37m 3790 MHz [1;34m7:[0;37m 3634 MHz [1;34m8:[0;37m 1793 MHz[0;37m
[1;34mGraphics: [0;37m [1;34mCard:[0;37m NVIDIA GM107 [GeForce GTX 750] [1;34mbus-ID:[0;37m 01:00.0[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mDisplay Server:[0;37m X.org 1.17.1 [1;34mdrivers:[0;37m nvidia,nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mtty size:[0;37m 100x37 [1;34mAdvanced Data:[0;37m N/A for root out of X[0;37m
[1;34mAudio: [0;37m [1;34mCard-1[0;37m NVIDIA Device 0fbc [1;34mdriver:[0;37m snd_hda_intel [1;34mbus-ID:[0;37m 01:00.1[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mCard-2[0;37m Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mdriver:[0;37m snd_hda_intel [1;34mbus-ID:[0;37m 00:1b.0[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mCard-3[0;37m Microsoft LifeCam VX-3000 [1;34mdriver:[0;37m USB Audio [1;34musb-ID:[0;37m 003-004[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mSound:[0;37m Advanced Linux Sound Architecture [1;34mv:[0;37m k3.19.0-32-generic[0;37m
[1;34mNetwork: [0;37m [1;34mCard-1:[0;37m Intel 82579V Gigabit Network Connection[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mdriver:[0;37m e1000e [1;34mv:[0;37m 2.3.2-k [1;34mport:[0;37m f040 [1;34mbus-ID:[0;37m 00:19.0[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mIF:[0;37m eth0 [1;34mstate:[0;37m down [1;34mmac:[0;37m <filter>[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mCard-2:[0;37m Qualcomm Atheros AR922X Wireless Network Adapter [1;34mdriver:[0;37m ath9k [1;34mbus-ID:[0;37m 03:00.0[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mIF:[0;37m wlan0 [1;34mstate:[0;37m down [1;34mmac:[0;37m <filter>[0;37m
[1;34mDrives: [0;37m [1;34mHDD Total Size:[0;37m 5249.1GB (0.3% used)[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mID-1:[0;37m /dev/sda [1;34mmodel:[0;37m ST2000DL003 [1;34msize:[0;37m 2000.4GB [1;34mtemp:[0;37m 28C[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mID-2:[0;37m /dev/sdb [1;34mmodel:[0;37m ST3000DM001 [1;34msize:[0;37m 3000.6GB [1;34mtemp:[0;37m 29C[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mID-3:[0;37m /dev/sdc [1;34mmodel:[0;37m KINGSTON_SV300S3 [1;34msize:[0;37m 240.1GB [1;34mtemp:[0;37m 25C[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mID-4:[0;37m USB /dev/sdh [1;34mmodel:[0;37m v165w [1;34msize:[0;37m 8.1GB [1;34mtemp:[0;37m 0C[0;37m
[1;34mPartition:[0;37m [1;34mID-1:[0;37m / [1;34msize:[0;37m 145G [1;34mused:[0;37m 17G (13%) [1;34mfs:[0;37m ext4 [1;34mdev:[0;37m /dev/sdc2[0;37m
[1;34mRAID: [0;37m No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present[0;37m
[1;34mSensors: [0;37m [1;34mSystem Temperatures: cpu:[0;37m 36.0C [1;34mmobo:[0;37m N/A [1;34mgpu:[0;37m 0.0:[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mFan Speeds (in rpm): cpu:[0;37m N/A[0;37m
[1;34mInfo: [0;37m [1;34mProcesses:[0;37m 150 [1;34mUptime:[0;37m 2 min [1;34mMemory:[0;37m 95.2/7961.7MB [1;34mInit:[0;37m Upstart [1;34mGcc sys:[0;37m 4.8.4[0;37m
[1;34m [0;37m [1;34mClient:[0;37m Shell (bash 4.3.111) [1;34minxi:[0;37m 2.2.28[0;37m [0;37m
[0m

User avatar
DarkLotus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: how to enter on "graphical compatibility mode"

Post by DarkLotus »

Video card Nvidea GeForceGTX 750
driver: nvidea-361

Anyway, if you guys only tell me how to boot in minimal graphical settings, or reset the graphic configuration from text line, that would be nice.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”