Hardware for Linux Mint build? Newbie here.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Gary and Elodie
Level 1
Level 1

Hardware for Linux Mint build? Newbie here.

Post by Gary and Elodie »

We are Gary & Elodie.

Gary was educated at Oregon Institute of Technology in management information systems, which focused mostly on windows. He has a pretty good understanding of both hardware and software, as well as having taken several programing languages along the way, although sometime back. His sight failed before he finished his senior year. He's an education nut and has a vast number of credits in other areas too.

I(Elodie) am only familiar from a user standpoint but still have my sight. Definitely not as savvy as Gary computer-wise. So... I need to do the typing and reading and he needs to do the actual understanding and putting together the hardware. He can read with a large monitor and bringing up the size but it's very tedious and not conducive to actually getting things done. For hardware, Gary uses very bright lights and heavy duty magnifiers and me! Neither of us has experience with Linux. Gary did some Unix in college but that was a long time ago.

Gary would like to build a desktop, specifically for Linux, and he's pretty much decided on Mint for the OS. We would like to know what hardware you like for this kind of build, i.e. motherboards, processors, graphics cards, sound cards, etc. Decent graphics are important to him since he does like to play games. He would also like opinions on wine, i.e. for games he'd like to continue playing that require windows and perhaps run some other windows programs.