BleachBit

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
dl9220
Level 3
Level 3

BleachBit

Post by dl9220 » Sat Aug 20, 2016 2:07 pm

High all,

After several years of Mint, I keep running into people claiming BleachBit will wreck the system. So far none has delivered an example of what files are wrecked and which survives.

Me, I've been using it since many years on different distro's without ever running into any hick-up. After carefully checking all options and configuring manually, of course.

So, now for the question :D Who can provide users with a clear motivated explanation to not use BleachBit. FYI, I'm also one of these guys using multiple PPA's (e.g. removing Libreoffice and installing it from ppa). And up to now, I only do clean installs when moving from one distro to it's successor.

Cheers
Mint Sarah Xfce (Linux 4.8.4 Low Latency) on MSI A88Xi-AC + AMD A10-7850@4.2 gHz + AMD R9-270X + Corsair 16 GB DDR3-1866 + Adata SX900-64
Lenovo Z50-75 - Mint Sarah Xfce (4.8.4 Low Latency) AMD FX7500 - Corsair ForceLS 120 Gb - Corsair 16 Gb 1866DDR3 lv

Schultz
Level 7
Level 7

Re: BleachBit

Post by Schultz » Sat Aug 20, 2016 2:55 pm

I use it also (very sparingly) without any adverse affects on my system. One thing that has wrecked some people's system, if my memory serves me correctly, from forum posts here, is the wipe function.

People who tend to just check every box without knowing what it does should not use Bleachbit.

all41
Level 15
Level 15

Post by all41 » Sat Aug 20, 2016 3:28 pm