Can't add search engine to firefox

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
1971rk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:52 pm

Can't add search engine to firefox

Post by 1971rk » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:59 pm

I'm using LM Rosa, I have just installed Firefox, there is NO search engines installed by default. I have went to the LM search engine page and tried to add several different engines, however when I click the link the green plus sign pops up on the magnifying glass, but there is nothing in the box when clicking the plus sign. Trying to click the "Add search engine" link within that drop down box does nothing, it's like there is a glitch in the search engine function, but I'm sure there is a work around somewhere....

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 21791
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't add search engine to firefox

Post by xenopeek » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:49 pm

This sounds pretty bad. Which version of Firefox are you using? I would recommend making sure you've updated it through Update Manager and as needed delete the .mozilla directory in your home directory to erase all Firefox settings, bookmarks, add-ons, and such to start with a clean profile. Press Ctrl+H in your file manager to show hidden files like .mozilla.
Image

ladyonthemoon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: Can't add search engine to firefox

Post by ladyonthemoon » Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:21 pm

Did you try adding search engines from within the addon pages of Firefox?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-GB/firefox/#

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16609
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Can't add search engine to firefox

Post by Cosmo. » Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:38 pm

1971rk wrote:I have just installed Firefox, there is NO search engines installed by default.
There is something wrong. Although by default you might probably miss the search engine of your choice, there do exist search engines by default. If you have really none, it must have a reason.

Possibly the advice by xenopeek to delete the hidden folder .mozilla in your home corrects the problem.
If not create a new user account and check the problem there.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”