DST did not update

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Khaavren
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:32 pm

DST did not update

Postby Khaavren » Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:26 am

I live in Eastern US, and a couple of years ago our congress fiddled with the Daylight Savings Time dates. We now change the 2nd Sunday in March, and 1st Sunday in November. Last November, my system's clock changed automatically without problems. Yesterday (The spring-ahead date) did not. I did a zdump command and it appears to have the dates correct, but still did not work. What am I doing wrong?

Linux Mint Elyssa-64

david@Legolas ~ $ zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2009
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 8 06:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 8 01:59:59 2009 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 8 07:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Mar 8 03:00:00 2009 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 1 05:59:59 2009 UTC = Sun Nov 1 01:59:59 2009 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 1 06:00:00 2009 UTC = Sun Nov 1 01:00:00 2009 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
david@Legolas ~ $

User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Midwest USA at /var/www
Contact:

Re: DST did not update

Postby DataMan » Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:00 am

Have you done your repository updates recently? There was an update passed recently for tzdata.

Mine worked and I Live in Indiana.... (like if it works in Indiana it works everywhere :) )

DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015

Khaavren
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:32 pm

Re: DST did not update

Postby Khaavren » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:48 pm

I haven't done any special for updates. I run Mint update automagically (3 and above get updated). BTW, I am in Ohio, so not too far from you.

User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Midwest USA at /var/www
Contact:

Re: DST did not update

Postby DataMan » Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:10 am

BTW, I am in Ohio, so not too far from you.


True, but Indiana just joined the 20th century (still working on the 21st..) as we didn't have daylight saving time (sorta) up until a couple of years ago... :lol:

DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Flemur, Majestic-12 [Bot], Moem and 12 guests