Gaim finished ?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
drum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 7:55 am
Location: Australia

Gaim finished ?

Postby drum » Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:26 am

None of my distros will connect to gaim anymore.
Where can I get it's replacement - Pidgin?
Whats going on with all this?
Thanks
:?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:14 am

I don't know whats going on :) but Pidgin seems to be the successor of Gaim
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
bef
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Postby bef » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:40 am

Pidgin 2.0 hasn't been released yet, Pidgin 2.0 is the successor to Gaim 1.5...
The new version is proposed to have many enhancements, and to be released fairly soon.

I also have connection problems with Gaim, and will use Kopete until the release of Pidgin 2.0.
Image
member 675

drum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 7:55 am
Location: Australia

Postby drum » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:50 am

Hi bef,
I hope Pidgin is released soon
I can't get Kopete, is it in the repos
Pacman won't bring it down.
cheers :)

User avatar
bef
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Postby bef » Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:08 am

Kopete is definately in the Ubuntu repositories...

I'm fairly sure that my connection issue is not Gaim but a MoBlock issue, so I'll tinker.
Image
member 675

drum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 7:55 am
Location: Australia

Postby drum » Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:14 am

sorry,stupid me.
I was thinking of Arch LInux
Yes I tried Kopete in Mint and I can't get it to connect.
I'll mess with it some more later. Maybe I have wrong pasword.
:D

kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Postby kanishka » Wed May 02, 2007 3:23 am

I just downloaded the Pidgin autopackage from the official site, and it works ok

User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby hairy_Palms » Tue May 08, 2007 3:10 pm

pidgin is nice, must say i dont like the new menu icon they supply, the new tango status icons etc are much better though.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crebspark and 18 guests