recovery mode

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
lynne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Johannesburg South Africa

recovery mode

Postby lynne » Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:14 pm

HI
I am trying to install the nvidia drivers on an amd machine
the site tels me to go to root shell without x windows running
so I start the computer in recovery mode and get the recovery menu
go to root and get
GIVE PASSWORD FOR MAINTENANCE
(OR TYPE CONTROL-D TO CONTINUE)
when i type my password it tell me
LOGIN INCORRECT
I need to get here to run the program that I downloaded with all the drivers and so on
(I did it on my friends Ubuntu machine and it worked)
hope someone can help me
lynne

User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 743
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: recovery mode

Postby garda » Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:51 pm


lynne
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Johannesburg South Africa

Re: recovery mode

Postby lynne » Sat Mar 14, 2009 2:51 pm

Thanks a lot I its is all sorted
it now looks great
all the best
lynne


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 18 guests