Uninstalling Updates

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

gimp is only on the screen shot but is closed
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by WharfRat »

Sorry, I can't make heads or tails out of that.

Install scrot which is a lightweight screenshot app.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install scrot
Then get the apps or whatever up on the desktop, then open the terminal and enter

Code: Select all

scrot %Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S.png -d 15 -c
then immediately minimize the terminal to get it out of the way and wait 15 seconds for the screen capture.

Attach the file using Attachments here.

Hopefully it will be better than your try above.
ImageImage
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

file:///home/guest/Desktop/Screenshot
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

file:///home/guest/Desktop/Screenshot
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

Really....now the pic doesn't show?????
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by WharfRat »

The file would be named something like 2016-10-31-22-13-14.png i.e., year-month-day-hour-minute-second.png

Also I have a problem here too with the file being too large so I had to install imagemagick and run

Code: Select all

convert -quality 20 2016-10-31-22-13-14.png 2016-10-31-22-13-14.jpg
to get the file under 100k. I've never had a problem before :?

So if you want to give that a try...
ImageImage
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ convert -quality 20 2016-10-31-22-13-14.png 2016-10-31-22-13-14.jpg+
The program 'convert' can be found in the following packages:
* imagemagick
* graphicsmagick-imagemagick-compat
Try: sudo apt-get install <selected package>
AscLinux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by AscLinux »

AscLinux wrote:Things like this can happen when the config files in your home directory get messed up or maybe are not fully compatible with the upgrade performed. To test this create a test user. Log on as this test user, does it have still the same problems?
I guess this is not going to happen? Diagnosing whether the problem is in the home directory?
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by WharfRat »

Rollo151,
AscLinux wrote:I guess this is not going to happen? Diagnosing whether the problem is in the home directory?
Add a new user, logout and login as the new user to check if things look normal. I should have thought of that a long tome ago.

Code: Select all

sudo adduser username
Use your name of choice in place of username.

You don't have to fill out each question past the password prompt, just press enter for most of them.
ImageImage
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

WOOHOO.....My computer is back up and running like it used to be....Big THANKS to Warfrat and All others that helped me get this fixed! If ever I have more problems, I know where to come and get help.

Rollo151 aka Erik
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

Oh, if you could suggest the most recent Adobe Flash for my system, I'd appreciate any help
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by killer de bug »

Just install it from the update manager and you will have the most recent version available.

On my system the latest version is 11.2.202.643

Code: Select all

flashplayer-mozilla:
  Installé : 3:11.2.202.643-dmo2
  Candidat : 3:11.2.202.643-dmo2
 Table de version :
 *** 3:11.2.202.643-dmo2 0
        500 http://www.deb-multimedia.org/ jessie/non-free amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by WharfRat »

Rollo151 wrote:WOOHOO.....My computer is back up and running like it used to be....
You don't know how relieved I am to see that :D

I'm assuming creating the new user fixed it. I've never had that happen to me even with dist-upgrades so I just didn't consider it.

It's very odd that it happened to you :?
ImageImage
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ flashplayer-mozilla:
flashplayer-mozilla:: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ Installé : 3:11.2.202.643-dmo2
Installé: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ Candidat : 3:11.2.202.643-dmo2
Candidat: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ Table de version :
Table: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ *** 3:11.2.202.643-dmo2 0
Desktop: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ 500 http://www.deb-multimedia.org/ jessie/non-free amd64 Packages
500: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $ 100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
100: command not found
guest@guest-OptiPlex-745 ~ $
Rollo151
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Uninstalling Updates

Post by Rollo151 »

Warf, I think it was a combination of all the things you had me try but yes, it worked after the testing as a new user
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”