I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by jollyjack »

For years, I've been happy with FF - I need a few simple add-ons (which it has) and I could synch with my Android devices. However, it is now SO juddery when I use the mouse wheel, it's unuseable. I've searched the web, tried every add-on and solution, but still no improvement.

So, I tried Chrome/Chromium. I could get to like them, but for two problems - they print some pages in negative (white on black) plus they (well, Chrome at least) shuts itself down several times a day - sometimes even in the middle of using it. Again, I can't find a solution out there, so I need another browser.

Midori was a possible. A different GUI perhaps, but on the positive side, no negative printing and no juddering. However, it's no good - it doesn't support LastPass password manager, which I've started using.

So,I'm going to look at Opera, which is supported by LastPass. I didn't like it the last time I tried it - too rigid in appearance and the way it worked - but maybe it's changed.

In the meantime, has anybody any other Ideas on what I can do?

Thanks
Last edited by jollyjack on Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15506
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by Pjotr »

Please generate an overview of your system like this:

- Launch a terminal window (this is how to launch a terminal window);

- make the terminal window full screen, to avoid chopped lines;

- copy/paste this command into the terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
(if you type: the letter F is a capital letter)

Press Enter.

- Copy/paste the output in your next message.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17817
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by Cosmo. »

The problem can be in the FF-profile.
To find this out do the following:
Close FF.
Open your file-manager and make hidden files visible (press ctrl-h).
Rename the folder .mozilla to .mozilla.bck
Start FF, this will create automatically a new FF-profile.
Check.

To get back to your old profile:
Close FF.
Delete the new folder .mozilla
Rename the folder .mozila.bck back to .mozilla
Start FF. Done.
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by jollyjack »

Thanks for the very quick responses, guys.

@pjotr: here's the output.

System: Host: lenovo Kernel: 4.4.0-31-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.3.1)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.1)
Distro: Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Machine: System: LENOVO (portable) product: 80E5 v: Lenovo G50-80
Mobo: LENOVO model: Lenovo G50-80 v: 31900058 WIN
Bios: LENOVO v: B0CN79WW date: 05/07/2015
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i5-5200U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 8779
clock speeds: max: 2700 MHz 1: 2200 MHz 2: 1078 MHz 3: 1807 MHz
4: 2189 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Broadwell-U Integrated Graphics bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card-1 Intel Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Card-2 Intel Broadwell-U Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-31-generic
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: wlp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2000.4GB (47.1% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD10JPCX size: 1000.2GB
ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Elements_1042 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 18G used: 9.0G (55%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
ID-2: /home size: 32G used: 9.1G (31%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
ID-3: swap-1 size: 8.39GB used: 0.01GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda9
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 259 Uptime: 1 day Memory: 3015.6/7898.6MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421) inxi: 2.2.35

@ Cosmo: Will try that and let you know.

Thanks
User avatar
Kilwillie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by Kilwillie »

There's also Vivaldi, a new browser started by the co-founder of Opera, and PaleMoon, a fork of Firefox.

https://vivaldi.com

https://www.palemoon.org/
Image
User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11584
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by Moem »

And SeaMonkey. There's a PPA available.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by jollyjack »

@Cosmo,

Well, it looks like a new profile has helped. It's still not silky-smooth, and I've still got a bit of personalisation to do, but as long as it stays like this, I'll stay with FF. I'll finish the installation and monitor it for a few days, see how it goes.I'd prefer to stay with FF if possible - the devil you know....

Cheers
User avatar
Pjotr
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15506
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by Pjotr »

Some older or weaker video cards have trouble because of the hardware acceleration that's on by default in Firefox. When you experience graphics problems in Firefox (delay when typing text, problems with displaying video's), disable it as follows:

Click on the button with three horizontal dashes in the top right corner - Preferences - Advanced:
remove the tick for: Use hardware acceleration when available
Close Firefox and launch it again.

And whatever you do, don't turn your Firefox into a Christmas tree:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... stmas-tree
(item 8, right column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by jollyjack »

Thanks, Pjotr - I've seen that advice before, but no-one has explained WHY. Done now.

Re add-ons, I have as few as I can - AdBlock, another bookmark menu, a couple of simple new-tab settings and that's it. Apart from LastPass,of course.

Thank for all the help and suggestions, guys. You've never let me down yet.

Cheers
jazz.h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:13 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by jazz.h »

I'm very satisfied with PaleMoon. I have 2 profiles, one with usefull addons (NoScript, uBlock origin etc...), the 2nd with no addons at all, for ebank, shopping etc...
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9674
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas?

Post by phd21 »

Hi "jollyjack",

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

Firefox works very well, but I found that some add-ons and plug-ins, like "AdBlock" or "AdBlock Plus" affected it's performance negatively, whereas the "uBlock" or "uBlock origin" did not. So, you might try disabling or removing "AdBlock" and installing "uBlock" to see if that helps.

The new Opera browser works very well and is secure and very fast, and now has a built-in ad blocker feature. It can also run Chrome Extensions now as well.

It is always a good idea to have more than one browser installed anyway: having issues in one browser try another, in case of a bad update (usually temporary), for other users, some people use for particular specific and dedicated purposes like banking, etc...


FYI: It looks like you have an integrated video card. It you check your computer's bios, I would make sure that you have at least 500mb to 1 gigabyte (gb) or more of shared system memory dedicated to your integrated video.

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint 20 and 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
User avatar
Reorx
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4013
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by Reorx »

jazz.h wrote:I'm very satisfied with PaleMoon. I have 2 profiles, one with usefull addons (NoScript, uBlock origin etc...), the 2nd with no addons at all, for ebank, shopping etc...
Interesting... arguably, e-commerce is when you need a protected browser (add-ons) the most but it is also when they are the most annoying.... Every bit if e-commerce I do, I do with FF with NoScript!. YMMV! :mrgreen:
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by jollyjack »

@Reorx: if I was sensible, I'd do e-commerce with a "private" browser session and a disposible e-mail address. I'm not that organised, however...

@phd21: thanks for the ideas. I've just changed to Ublock origin, as per your advice, and disabled AdBlock.

Re the memory dedicated to the video card: I'd appreciate a bit more guidance (call me stupid...). My laptop is UEFI not bios. There's no mention of video memory in the settings - am I being more stupid than usual?

Cheers
User avatar
Reorx
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4013
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by Reorx »

jollyjack wrote:@Reorx: if I was sensible, I'd do e-commerce with a "private" browser session and a disposible e-mail address. I'm not that organised, however...
We all make choices!
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image
User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9674
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by phd21 »

Hi "jollyjack",

You are welcome

All computers have a bios setup that is accessible when you start up your computer. You usually have to hit a function key (like "F1") when the computer is starting and hold it down, or hit a few times, to get into your computer's Bios, but that key is different depending upon the computer manufacturer. Once you are in the Bios, there are various settings, and some of those settings pertain to onboard devices, like an onboard video card, and you can change various settings like how much system memory (ram) is shared with the onboard video card. You must save the changes for them to take effect. If you are unsure of what you are doing in the bios take photos of your bios options, post them here, then ask here, or get help from someone locally.

Boot keys for Lenovo G50
http://boot-keys.org/notebook/lenovo/g50/

Bios setup: fn+F2 or power on by pressing «OneKey Recovery button» near power connector

HOW TO ENTER LENOVO G50 BIOS SETUP AND BOOT MENU
See Step #2 Press the "Nova" button
http://trickiknow.com/lenovo-g50-bios-s ... windows-8/

Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8zaFeBqg1U

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint 20 and 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Mint Xfce + Kubuntu KDE) & KDE Neon 64-bit (new based on Ubuntu 20.04) Awesome OS's, Dell Inspiron I5 7000 (7573) 2 in 1 touch screen, Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, Intel 4 Graphics.
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: I think I need to change my browser - any ideas? SOLVED

Post by jollyjack »

@phd21

Thanks for all the links. I checked again, using them, and they take me to the same Bios settings as before - no mention of video memory

1st screen is Info (lists of H/w and serial numbers etc - nothing changeable), 2nd screen is Config (set system date/time, wifi on/off, etc), 3rd screen is Security (set passwords, etc), 4th screen is Boot options (which devices, which order etc). And that's it.

Cheers
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”