Installing Wine

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Old Marcus
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: Installing Wine

Post by Old Marcus »

The version that works with ubuntu should work fine with Mint, otherwise, try getting it from http://winehq.org/
Linux Mint 8 RC1 = Nice
'apt install' can be used on Linux Mint as a shortcut for 'sudo apt-get install'. 'apt x' can be used for various other apt commands as well.
When a problem is solved, please add [SOLVED] to your thread title.
piratesmack
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 3:08 pm

Re: Installing Wine

Post by piratesmack »

MusicJazz wrote:Hey thanks for the reply but i got some errors during the download :(

Is there a specific version of Wine that works good with Mint?

Mint pretty much is Ubuntu at the core, maybe there is a problem with the Ubuntu repository.
Try adding the official Wine repository and installing it from there.

Copy and paste these commands in a terminal one line at a time:

Code: Select all

wget -q http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/387EE263.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add -

sudo wget http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/sources.list.d/intrepid.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq.list

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install wine
Or if you want, you can get the deb here:
http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/archive ... 1_i386.deb
User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Installing Wine

Post by RedWagon »

Also, you pick the version of wine based off the program you're running, not the OS. If one version runs fine on Mint (all the recent ones do) then the rest will. You should look at the application you're trying to run at www.winehq.org and see which version it runs best in.
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Installing Wine

Post by kei84 »

Install through synaptic.
Just type wine.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”