Same ISO version for Intel and AMD processor?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
GS3
Level 5
Level 5

Same ISO version for Intel and AMD processor?

Post by GS3 »

Hi, newbie here. My first try with Linux so please be gentle.

I have this hardware:
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT, MoBo HP3396, BIOS HP K01 V02.05 2012, Chipset Intel Q77 Expres,
Processor: Intel Core i5-3470 @ 3.2 GHz, Quad core, 64 bit
RAM: 8 GB (4x 2 GB) DDR3
Intel integrated graphics
500 GB NTFS HDD

I downloaded linuxmint-18.1-cinnamon-64bit.iso and burnt it to a DVD.
In the file README.deskdefines I see: DISKNAME Linux Mint 18.1 "Serena" - Release amd64

Can I use it with the Intel Core i5-3470 processor or is it only for AMD processors?
I need to confirm it will work with my processor. Ar4e there different versions for Intel and for AMD processors?

Regarding the integrated graphics, I have no further information and that description seems vague. Can I assume Linux Mint 18.1 will have a driver for it?

Any other observations or advice welcome.
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT - Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya - Kernel 4.4.0-171-generic X64 - Cinnamon 3.4.4 - Nemo

Moem
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Same ISO version for Intel and AMD processor?

Post by Moem »

GS3 wrote:Are there different versions for Intel and for AMD processors?
No, there are not. And the best way to find out how well your hardware is supported by Mint is always to try it from a DVD or USB. That should tell you all you need to know.

Welcome to the forum!

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

JoeFootball