Installation decisions [solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Tim Shirey
Level 1
Level 1

Installation decisions [solved]

Post by Tim Shirey »

I am very new to Linux but have some familiarity with Sun Solaris UNIX. I ordered a Linux Mint 17.3 USB drive (Cinnamon, I think) some months ago planning to run it on a 2008 64-bit laptop. Not the best strategy because I need to maintain familiarity with Windows 10. Now I want to install on an HP Multimedia 32-bit desktop Windows XP Pro (vintage about 2004) in some sort of dual-boot arrangement. The BIOS does not allow booting from a USB. The best solution would be to burn a bootable but full version on a DVD so I can run from that. Failing that, I can try to install Mint in its own partition on the hard drive. The Multimedia has both a read-only CD drive and read/write DVD drive and all sorts of other media options. It meets all the minimum requirements for Mint.

Questions: 1) can I burn a bootable full-version DVD/CD to run Mint live, either from my existing 64-bit USB drive or some other source? If so, then how? 2) Everyone I know that tried the dual-boot arrangement with a dedicated Linux partition has been very unhappy. I that the consensus?

Tim Shirey
Last edited by karlchen on Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as [solved], cf. confirmation that it is here, please: https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=237205&start=20#p1329839
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Installation decisions

Post by jimallyn »