Filling in the blanks getting TPLINK T2UH AC600 to work

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
CPinGP
Level 1
Level 1

Filling in the blanks getting TPLINK T2UH AC600 to work

Post by CPinGP » Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:07 pm

I've been an application programmer using Xenix and Linux over the years, so I'm a baby step above complete newbie, maybe.

After my XP PC died, I swapped the m/b, added more memory and a larger drive and set out to make Linux work for me. I'm running Sarah.

I want to "cut the cord" with wired internet connectivity, and have a Franklin R 850 mobile hotspot that is working well with my wireless devices including an old Dell Inspiron trying hard to run W7. It connects at 8+ Mbps, adequate for my purposes and faster than the AT&T ethernet my PC is getting

I got a TP-Link WN725-N and got some help making it work, but it ran so slow, so I took it back, and got a TPLINK T2UH AC600. Searching the forum, I found a link to a user who posted instructions on tweaking to make some existing driver compilation procedure work on Sarah. My problem is I think I need to take steps that are not specifically documented in the link.

I'll post the link at the bottom, but here's the first question:

He (shall we say) writes:
After you install that module the same is not activated and not binded on NetworkManager and you have follow some steps for complete install and activate that module
then adds instructions about modifying a config file
I have a driver CD, but don't know how to get to "install that module."

Here's the link; I won't post questions about his further instructions until we can work through this :)