Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:25 am

Hello everyone,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this. I ran mint on vmware for a few months and loved it, and decided to dual boot it along side windows 10. Now all of a sudden I do not have any wireless connections. It's as if my wireless card isn't even installed on the laptop...

I don't even know where to start to even attempt to fix this problem.

I am currently connected to my internet via an ethernet cable.

Any help would be appreciated.

grumpy_geek
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by grumpy_geek » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:23 am

robothorse wrote:I don't even know where to start...
How about being more specific: What card? (What system?)

Please copy & paste all output resulting from the following command issued to your Linux Mint's terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13158
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by Pjotr » Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:37 am

In addition to what grumpy_geek asked, please provide also the output of the following three commands:

Code: Select all

rfkill list all
and:

Code: Select all

iwconfig
and:

Code: Select all

inxi -Nn
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

English Invader
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 225
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:53 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by English Invader » Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:01 am

The terminal is accessed by holding Ctrl + Alt and pressing T. All you have to do then is type in the commands you were given by grumpy_geek and Pjotr and supply the requested information.

robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:06 pm

grumpy_geek wrote:
robothorse wrote:I don't even know where to start...
How about being more specific: What card? (What system?)

Please copy & paste all output resulting from the following command issued to your Linux Mint's terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Hello grumpy_geek, thank you for responding!

here's what i got after typing that command...

Code: Select all

System:    Host: jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook Kernel: 4.4.0-53-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine:   System: HP (portable) product: HP Pavilion Notebook
           Mobo: HP model: 81FB v: 80.21
           Bios: American Megatrends v: F.23 date: 09/22/2016
CPU:       Dual core AMD A9-9410 RADEON R5 5 COMPUTE CORES 2C+3G (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 11578
           clock speeds: max: 2900 MHz 1: 1700 MHz 2: 2600 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 98e4 bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,amdgpu (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,radeon)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD STONEY (DRM 3.1.0 / 4.4.0-53-generic, LLVM 3.8.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 157a
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:09.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 15b3
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-53-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
           port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (1.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HGST_HTS541010A9 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 89G used: 5.9G (7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 30.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 217 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 863.7/7497.4MB
           Init: systemd Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.461) inxi: 2.2.35
Last edited by robothorse on Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:08 pm

Pjotr wrote:In addition to what grumpy_geek asked, please provide also the output of the following three commands:

Code: Select all

rfkill list all
and:

Code: Select all

iwconfig
and:

Code: Select all

inxi -Nn

Hey Thank you for responding! Okay, here's what i got...

Code: Select all

jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ rfkill list all
0: hci0: Bluetooth
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eno1      no wireless extensions.

jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ inxi -Nn
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: c8:d3:ff:da:51:63
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ 


grumpy_geek
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:50 am
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by grumpy_geek » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:37 pm

robothorse wrote:

Code: Select all

Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E ... driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE ... driver: <missing>
Does manually loading the missing driver / kernel module change anything?

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe rtl8723be

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13158
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by Pjotr » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:42 pm

OK, try the rtlwifi_new driver from lwfinger:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... m-lwfinger
(item 9, right column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:22 pm

grumpy_geek wrote:
robothorse wrote:

Code: Select all

Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E ... driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE ... driver: <missing>
Does manually loading the missing driver / kernel module change anything?

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe rtl8723be
this is what i got when i enter that command in.

Code: Select all

jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ sudo modprobe rt18723be
[sudo] password for jason: 
modprobe: FATAL: Module rt18723be not found in directory /lib/modules/4.4.0-53-generic
jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ 

robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:24 pm

Pjotr wrote:OK, try the rtlwifi_new driver from lwfinger:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... m-lwfinger
(item 9, right column)

Great! this seemed to work, my only problem is that the signal is very weak. I'm sitting next to my router and it's only @ 48%. And when i move through out my house the connection drops.

I don't seem to have this issue when i reboot back into my windows

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13158
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by Pjotr » Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:55 pm

OK.... please give the output of iwconfig again.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:03 pm

Pjotr wrote:OK.... please give the output of iwconfig again.
I want to say thank you again for taking the time to help me out.

Here's what i got.

Code: Select all

jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlo1      IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"698FEA"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: E0:46:9A:69:8F:E9   
          Bit Rate=72.2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=46/70  Signal level=-64 dBm  
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:565   Missed beacon:0

eno1      no wireless extensions.

jason@jason-HP-Pavilion-Notebook ~ $ 


User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13158
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by Pjotr » Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:06 pm

Try if it helps when you disable power management for the wifi chipset alone:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... eless-card
(item 2.1, right column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

robothorse
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:20 am

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by robothorse » Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:23 pm

Pjotr wrote:Try if it helps when you disable power management for the wifi chipset alone:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... eless-card
(item 2.1, right column)
I disabled power management and the problem still occurs.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13158
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Complete newbie, just installed 18.1 and i have no wifi

Post by Pjotr » Sun Feb 19, 2017 5:52 pm

Try if it helps when you select the best channel for your wireless network:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... st-channel
(item 1, left column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”