[SOLVED] How to copy from the terminal

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Joel Paz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:51 pm

[SOLVED] How to copy from the terminal

Post by Joel Paz »

Dear friends,
I have Linuxmint 17.2 Rafaela installed in 4 computers. Two of them are useless now because of "kernel panic freeze" and I trying to learn. Now I have somebody among you that asks me to copy the inxi -Fxz from the terminal, but I don't know how to do that since the terminal window doesn't offer me that option. How can I copy from the terminal to this place? I already tried a copy of a screenshot, but this forum tells me the archive is to big (??????).
Yours truly.
SOLVED
Last edited by Moem on Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Marked as SOLVED, please do this for your own topics. Thanks!
User avatar
MintyO
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:54 pm

Re: How to copy from the terminal

Post by MintyO »

Just copy like you would anywhere else in a computer. Paint with your mouse and then right click and copy; in terminal menu (edit) select copy all or pres Shift + Ctrl +A with your keyboard. When pasting to the forum post, use the "Code" tags for the output to make a scrollable box for easy reading and to save space.

For posting images. Use image hosting sites, like imgur. Post the link to the image inside "Img" tags to make a clickable thumbnail.
Ducks on the edge sleep with one eye open.
User avatar
Flemur
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8858
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: How to copy from the terminal

Post by Flemur »

You can also copy/paste in the terminal with Shift+Ctrl+C and Shift+Ctrl+V - so it's like copy/paste anywhere else but add the "shift". (IIRC, this is because Ctrl+C already meant "interrupt" when MS redefined it to mean "copy").
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
User avatar
chellrose
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:04 am

Re: How to copy from the terminal

Post by chellrose »

You can also copy using Ctrl + Insert, and paste using Shift + Insert.
Joel Paz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:51 pm

Re: How to copy from the terminal

Post by Joel Paz »

Dera MintyO,
Where is the terminal's menu so I can pick Edit ???????????????????????????????????????????????????
Yours truly,
Joel,
User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6570
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: How to copy from the terminal

Post by all41 »

right click in the text window and put a check next to "Show Menubar"
Light travels faster than sound. That's why some people appear smart until you hear what they are saying.
You will seldom see a grey-beard wearing a tinfoil hat.
Joel Paz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:51 pm

Re: How to copy from the terminal

Post by Joel Paz »

Dear all41,
Thank you very much to you and MintyO and the rest that helped me. But you solved it.
Problem Solved.
Yours truly,
Joel
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”