Page 1 of 1

going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:45 pm
by jasonwatkins
Ok, i've returned to linux after a couple of years so i'm still kind of finding my linux feet again somewhat.

i'm trying to get flash working in firefox and not really getting anywhere and i'm starting to get a bit stumped.

What i've tried so far ..

In Synaptic : uninstalling flashplugin-nonfree and installing adobe-flashplugin
uninstalling adobe-flashplugin and re-installing flashplugin-nonfree
installing both
installing neither (obviously that won't isn't going to work ;)

searching these here forums for "flash problems" and trying ..

Code: Select all

apt-remove --purge -y flashplugin-nonfree nspluginwrapper
apt-install flashplugin-nonfree
also downloading the .deb package directly from adobe, which is 'install_flash_player_10_linux.deb' and installing that. it tells me there is a newer version in the software channel, but i still try this one anyway.

searched these here forums for "flash" and went back 20 odd pages looking for a solution

( to prove it, this is the 1st link on page 21 of the search results :)

i've also tried ..

Code: Select all

aptitude purge flashplugin-nonfree flashplugin-nonfree-extrasound adobe-flashplugin nspluginwrapper
and then

Code: Select all

aptitude install flashplugin-nonfree
and .. NOTHING works .. when I go to youtube, or try and play a game, i just get an empty square where the flash content should be. is it a case of me not seeing the wood for the trees ?

i seem to remember one solution for V5 of mint was to remove flash V10 and re-install V9, but then i've tried to look for version 9 of flash for linux and can't find one at the moment.

any help greatly appreciated .. thanks ..

Re: going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:18 am
by jasonwatkins
anyone?

Re: going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:32 am
by jasonwatkins
i actually did manage to find version 9 of the flash plugin in an rpm file, so i installed alien to convert it to a deb package, installed that and still nothing

Re: going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:54 am
by jasonwatkins
i've also tried uninstalling the ubuntu-restricted extras and re-installing the kubuntu restricted extras and still nothing works.

Re: going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:47 pm
by ddalley
jasonwatkins wrote:i'm trying to get flash working in firefox and not really getting anywhere and i'm starting to get a bit stumped.

... when I go to youtube, or try and play a game, i just get an empty square where the flash content should be. is it a case of me not seeing the wood for the trees ?
At the moment, I'm stumped too. I just installed the Gnome version of LM and YouTube pages just have a light outline of where the video should display. If I attempt to install Flash, of course Mint warns me that something in their own repository is available.

I'm sure my forest is as dense as yours, Jason.

Re: going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:20 pm
by jasonwatkins
ddalley wrote:I'm sure my forest is as dense as yours, Jason.
heh :)

i think i have randomly stumbled across the cause - check this thread out

Re: going round in circles trying to get flash working in V6 KDE

Posted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:08 pm
by ddalley
At the moment, I have no idea how that post helps me. I don't know either foxxytunes or XMMS or whether they are even installed.

I am working with a new Mint install and a whole bunch of things are not working - sound, especially.
The system audio "tests" work, after setting them output to OSS, but I don't get any audio output otherwise.