Why is it so hard to use Linux?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
chiller

Why is it so hard to use Linux?

Post by chiller »

Im a noob to Linux Mint 17,I chose it because it is supposed to be the easist to use!, This is after my windows 7 hard drive failed. Heres an example,I went to YouTube but it wouldnt work because my Firefox version 28 wasnt recent enough even though I had only just downloaded it from the software manager. Then I downloaded Wine to play a game on Facebook but that doesnt work either and thats after downloading another two programs I was prompted to do?
I could go on and on. No wonder not many people use it because its a mess and more trouble than its worth having to trawl through mountains of text trying to get a handle on how it works, any questions go unanswered in the Forum, its no wonder that not many people use Linux. If some care was taken to do this right then something like Mint would be great and you would see millions of people using it. Its back to windows7 for me.
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Re: Why is it so hard to use Linux?

Post by Moem »

Do you want help, or did you just want to vent?

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24

Post by Cosmo. »

chiller wrote:Im a noob to Linux Mint 17,I chose it because it is supposed to be the easist to use!
It is.