Windows after linux mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
danishzaryab007
Level 1
Level 1

Windows after linux mint

Post by danishzaryab007 » Sun May 28, 2017 1:18 pm

I installed Linux mint about a month ago, and I still use it still.

But I am a developer and i needed windows 7 for many things that weren't supported on Linux.

So i got a new windows 7 (I don't need Windows 10) and installed it.

However, i didn't knew that it would cause a problem.
Windows installation ran quite smoothly, but now im locked out of Linux.
I cant boot into Linux, neither can i see the Drive (partition) that has Linux.
Is there any way to at least get my data back.
Thanks... :D

MintBean
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Windows after linux mint

Post by MintBean » Sun May 28, 2017 1:38 pm

Boot from a Mint install DVD/USB to get to a live session. If your Mint partition has not been overwritten, you will be able to access it from there. Windows can't read EXT4, the Linux filesystem.

gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9

Re: Windows after linux mint

Post by gold_finger » Sun May 28, 2017 2:00 pm