Search Engines

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
flagbear

Search Engines

Post by flagbear »

I am a newbie as a Mint favorer - and I have settled on Mint after years of distro-hopping - so go easy if I am violating some tribal etiquette here.

I do have some search engine preferences for SE's which are not by default provided in LM.

I have followed the instructions from both Mozilla and Mint and in both cases the SE I wish to install does NOT appear in any of the drop down text boxes.

I have tried this with both Google and Dogpile.

Any helpful ideas are appreciated, but please don't simply repeat the canned instructions, I already tried them and they do not work. I would appreciate though if someone replicates my procedure and indicates whether or not they were able to install these SE's.

I am asking about the technical procedure not whether other users approve. The issue of lobbying SE's to support Mint belongs in a separate thread, feel free to open one if so desired but please don't preach to me. I get enough of that from Richard Stallman videos, which I do watch, thanks.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
MintBean

Re: Search Engines

Post by MintBean »

Dude, no need to be so defensive! :D