Installing a bad copy of linux

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
BKS Emperor X
Level 1
Level 1

Installing a bad copy of linux

Postby BKS Emperor X » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:24 pm

Hello Members,

I am a Newbie to Linux Mint and I want to know if I installed a bad copy of Linux, wouldn't it be able to be fixed by patching it? I haven't verified my download yet with the checksums. What would happen if I didn't verify if the download was legit? :?:

austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Installing a bad copy of linux

Postby austin.texas » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:58 pm

If you did happen to download a faulty .iso file (which is quite rare), there is no way to predict what problem you might have. It would be like a scratched CD. The scratch could be at the beginning of a track or at the end. In the same way, your downloaded data could be incomplete at any point.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2017

JerryF
Level 6
Level 6

Postby JerryF » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:21 pm

Suggestion---always verify your ISO
https://linuxmint.com/verify.php
Don't forget to edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject line if your problem has been fixed.
My main language is English. I speak very little Portuguese, and a whole lot of gibberish.

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22

Postby Cosmo. » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:01 pm

BKS Emperor X wrote:if I installed a bad copy of Linux, wouldn't it be able to be fixed by patching it?