Mint Menu

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
maprx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:44 am

Mint Menu

Postby maprx » Wed May 09, 2007 6:23 am

my mint menu, either opens up completly or partially and sometimes does not close it stays above the application. this is on version 2.2. any ideas?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed May 09, 2007 7:42 am

First - do you have Beryl installed?
If so there is a bug that means you have to click three times to open/close the menu. Don't kn ow if it's changed with never versions
If so the solution should be found here
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... s_problems
Also right click on the icon to the left of "Bianca" and select "Reload plugins"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

lars
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am
Contact:

Postby lars » Wed May 09, 2007 9:40 am

maprx: what do you mean by "partially"? Are only some parts of the menu shown? Maybe you can provide a screenshot to clarify things a bit.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed May 09, 2007 9:55 am

or partially
Did not "see" that :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Boo » Wed May 09, 2007 10:34 pm

my mintmenu now stays open once an application has opened.
I have to click on it to close it.

I have not tried removing and adding mint menu yet.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu May 10, 2007 4:36 am

@Boo
You have Beryl?
Sounds like the focus problem in the link a few posts before this one
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby D1Wayne » Sun May 13, 2007 3:42 pm

is there a quick way to turn the search string off or toggle it's display in mint menu, short of uninstall or remove from panel :) .

I personally only search for file/folders by name and not content 99.998% of the time

perhaps need a context type search only 3 or 4 times a year on my machine,
so the following recursive list gives me what I need.

Code: Select all

ls  -A -R -s -n -b --file-type -D --author  > directory.txt

and serves as a baseline for finding changes made to machines files )and net accessed stores as well.

lars
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am
Contact:

Postby lars » Mon May 14, 2007 11:31 am

no, there is no option to turn the search field of.

Maybe I will add it in further releases, but as its main function is to filter your programms, i don't thing so.

D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby D1Wayne » Tue May 15, 2007 1:50 am

thanks. would be appreciated


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arch_Enemy, myface64 and 5 guests