AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Barbados99
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:16 pm
Location: Central Illinois

AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by Barbados99 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:36 pm

I just upgraded my motherboard and cpu. The board is a, GIGABYTE GA-AB350M-Gaming 3 AMD Ryzen AM4 and it is running BIOS version F4.

The CPU is a Ryzen-3 1200

When I try to boot the Mint Cinnamon 18.2 on the USB I get this error:
unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Anyone experienced this, and found a solution?

User avatar
prestonR
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:24 pm
Location: Harare

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by prestonR » Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:13 am

Apparently this is a bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... mments=all

First, there is a newer bios available, even if that alone doesn't address your issue.

One of the users has made a patched kernel available: http://www.nextized.net/repo/linux/ubun ... ric.tar.gz but not sure that's a way I'd try. Other than that keep tracking the development there.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9187
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by catweazel » Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:52 am

There isn't good news for you, I'm afraid. This issue is endemic to all Gigabyte's Ryzen boards.

As prestonR has indicated, there is a custom kernel available but it couldn't fix this same issue on my GA-AX370 without a lot of rigmarole (install the kernel to a persistent, live USB on another machine and purge all the older kernels, with no guarantee that the patched kernel will find its way into the wider world) so I ditched that idea. Since there is no sign of Gigabyte fixing this issue, I fixed it myself by replacing the motherboard with an Asus Crosshair VI Hero. Linux Mint ran out of the box.

Anyone in the market for a cheap GA-AX370?
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
prestonR
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:24 pm
Location: Harare

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by prestonR » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:36 am

Maybe try Manjaro; comes with very fresh kernels and it's very smooth for general use. If you can live with it for 6 month or a year I'm sure the Ubuntus will be sorted too.

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by mr_raider » Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:52 am

Must be Gigabyte problem. I have booted three versions of *buntu/Mint on my Ryzen MSi b350 tomahwk. Kernel 4.4, 4.8 and 4.10 all boot.
Image

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9187
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by catweazel » Thu Aug 24, 2017 7:07 am

mr_raider wrote:Must be Gigabyte problem.
It is, and there's no sign of Gigabyte fixing it. Their Ryzen boards only support windwoes.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

Barbados99
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:16 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by Barbados99 » Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:16 am

Well that's a kick in the groin. I've never had a problem before with Gigabyte running Mint. Hopefully they get this fixed. In the meantime, I take it that there is no Linux distribution that will run on this board? I hate to have to run Windows on it for now, until this gets fixed. Bummer :(

User avatar
prestonR
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 843
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:24 pm
Location: Harare

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by prestonR » Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:25 am

As I said, try Manjaro, from their forum:
user peterling:
I am here with a Gigabyte AX370-Gaming K5 with a Ryzen 7 1700 / 32 GB Ballisitix Sport and all is running fine except my network card is not running at all. USB problems I get if there are too many devices plugged in. I already thought that it might be a power problem. Did not have any probs with any kernel so far.
user p37a96g:
USB problems and freezes seem to be gone since disabling IOMMU in BIOS and starting kernel with iommu=soft
user tenten8401:
Turns out, my wifi card was causing the complete system lockups.
Last edited by prestonR on Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9187
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by catweazel » Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:31 am

prestonR wrote:
Turns out, my wifi card was causing the complete system lockups.
In my case, my board doesn't have wifi.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

Barbados99
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:16 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by Barbados99 » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:24 pm

After doing some research I think I will try Linux Fedora 26 tonight. It sounds like Linux folks are using it for this MB. I'd try Manjaro (and thank you PrestonR for suggesting it), but I am more familiar with Fedora. So I'll give it a go tonight.

During my research on this today I stumbled on this article that may be interesting to some here:
http://techreport.com/news/32362/amd-co ... m-on-ryzen

I'll report back on how this goes with the MB and Fedora. My plan is to run Mint on the machine once it works on this MB, and until then go w/Fedora.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9187
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:49 am

Barbados99 wrote:After doing some research...
I've done some more research. You can boot Linux Mint with "apci=off" and install with only one CPU core. Afterwards you can remove "acpi=off" and upgrade the kernel to any version from 4.10.0-26.30 onwards.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

Barbados99
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:16 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by Barbados99 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:24 am

catweazel wrote:
Barbados99 wrote:After doing some research...
I've done some more research. You can boot Linux Mint with "apci=off" and install with only one CPU core. Afterwards you can remove "acpi=off" and upgrade the kernel to any version from 4.10.0-26.30 onwards.
Okay, good to know. I am going to try that tonight. I'll report my results here so others will know. Thanks for the information... much appreciated.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9187
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:59 pm

Barbados99 wrote:Okay, good to know. I am going to try that tonight. I'll report my results here so others will know. Thanks for the information... much appreciated.
Thank you, too. I look forward to finding out. I'd try it out myself but I don't have a spare CPU to plug into the Gigabyte board.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

Barbados99
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:16 pm
Location: Central Illinois

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by Barbados99 » Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:44 am

catweazel wrote:
Barbados99 wrote:Okay, good to know. I am going to try that tonight. I'll report my results here so others will know. Thanks for the information... much appreciated.
Thank you, too. I look forward to finding out. I'd try it out myself but I don't have a spare CPU to plug into the Gigabyte board.
I just couldn't get the Mint to work. The only thing that I could get to work was the latest Fedora 26 Workstation. It installs flawlessly. I'll just use that for now.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9187
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by catweazel » Sat Aug 26, 2017 1:29 am

Barbados99 wrote:The only thing that I could get to work was the latest Fedora 26 Workstation. It installs flawlessly. I'll just use that for now.
I'm glad you got that up and running.

Cheers.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1069
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: AMD Ryzen unexpected irq trap at vector 07

Post by ClixTrix » Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:38 pm

I purchased a Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H and Ryzen 5 1600 early last week.

Couldn't get Mint 18.2 x64 Cinnamon to boot from USB flash (same IRQ Trap at Vector 07 as others). Haven't tried 18.0 or 18.1.

I didn't have a problem with Mint 17.3 Cinnamon, and have it installed and working OK.

I'm following the bug at Ubuntu.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... mments=all

Patches/Fixes make me think we won't see relief until the next full release of Ubuntu and probably not until Mint 18.3 for media.

This appears to be the fix level for Zesty (or at least it's the suggested fix level):

"This bug was fixed in the package linux - 4.10.0-26.30"

Unless I'm mistaken, Mint 18.2 has 4.8.0-53. I ran some tests back in July and like 18.2. Was planning to move to 18.2 with this new system. The old office system is still on 17.3. At least 17.3 is good!

Any thoughts from the Mint team on 18.3 and this bug?

Update 9/15: Am able to boot Mint 18.1 x64 Cinnamon from USB flash. Haven't tried install yet, but at least no hang or IRQ Trap at vector 07. I see kernel 4.4.0-53 on this release. I'm assuming that Mint 18.0 would also work.

Update 9/23: I was able to install Mint 18.1 x64 Cinnamon. I then updated the kernel to 4.10.0-35 (latest 4.10 in Update Manager). I was then able to use the Update Manager to upgrade from 18.1 to 18.2 Sonya. After the update and reboot, I used the Update Manager to remove the 4.4.0-53 (optional working) and 4.8.0-53 (bad) kernels. I did not experiment with prior 4.10 kernels, nor I have I test 4.11 kernels. No problems to report, so far.

I believe the kernel fix levels for 4.10 start with 4.10.0-26, and the fix levels for 4.11 start with 4.11.0-6. I only saw 4.11 kernels 4.11.0-13 and 4.11.0-14 available from Mint Update Manager. If in doubt, search the kernel Changelog for "ryzen" to locate the fix. I haven't tried other than this method and kernel to get to Sonya. A little long in path, but it works.
Linux Mint 19.1 x64 Cinnamon 4.15.0-64-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / Sapphire Radeon HD6450
NVMe-SSD: Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB + Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”