environment variables

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Shaddix
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Belgium

environment variables

Postby Shaddix » Sun May 03, 2009 3:31 pm

whe I try to run IntelliJ mint always complains

it says:

Code: Select all

No JDK found to run IDEA. Please validate either IDEA_JDK or JDK_HOME points to valid JDK installation


now I have found a solution, it's starting IntelliJ like this:

Code: Select all

export IDEA_JDK=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-openjdk


Code: Select all

/bin/idea-9013/bin/idea.sh


it works if I do it like that, but is there a way so that I don't have to do the first line where I assign the enviroment variable to the correct pad everytime?
a state of mint..

rethgir
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 4:54 pm
Location: USA, NC

Re: environment variables

Postby rethgir » Mon May 04, 2009 11:08 am

Try adding this to your /etc/environment :

Code: Select all

IDEA_JDK=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-openjdk


I've read that if you source /etc/environment, it won't work for GUI applications -- you will have to log out and back in.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests