Need to re-install my Mint, a question or two, OK?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
white stone

Need to re-install my Mint, a question or two, OK?

Post by white stone »

The version I have been running since July 2014 is Mint 17 Qiana.

Searching for that I have only Mate or Cinnamon but no Qiana.

Can anyone tell me which of those would come closest to the Desktop and features I am used to using?

Since last reloading my Husband has passed away and the little forum where I was introduced to Mint has closed. I feel fairly comfortable reloading and have everything I can think of backed up. However, I know there will be something new that I might not understand.

Should I just bite the bullet and jump in? A word of encouragement would be appreciated. I have done this in the past many times, so I do feel capable just a little uneasy. No one else in my area seems to be running Linux. I certainly do not know why it is a great system.

Thanks for any replies,
white stone
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
MintBean

Re: Need to re-install my Mint, a question or two, OK?

Post by MintBean »

Don't get hung up on the name Qiana - it's just a codename for Mint 17. It doesn't 'mean' anything in terms of desktop and features other than 'what's in release 17.'