Missing task bar

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
2confused
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:47 pm

Missing task bar

Postby 2confused » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:57 pm

About a week ago I started up my computer while at home and it came up with an error saying 'Problems during Cinnamon startup'. At the same time I noticed the computer was no longer showing the task bar. In research I have come to figure out it is because window-list isn't loading correctly. How do I solve this problem so I can get the task bar back again?

When I right click on the task bar and bring up add to panel it already shows window-list but the button on the far right is red and I can't do a dang thing about it. It won't let me add it to the panel or remove from the panel.

I'm using Mint 18.1.

Mattyboy
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 430
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Missing task bar

Postby Mattyboy » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:50 pm

Log out of your user account and sign back in as a guest, does the problem persist?

Provide the results of this terminal command.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz

2confused
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:47 pm

Re: Missing task bar

Postby 2confused » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:49 pm

I have the computer set for one user only and don't have the guest option setup. Unless I'm missing something when I try it I can't log into anything but the regular account.

Not sure which button to press but I'l try list to list the results.

    System: Host: Someone-Somewhere Kernel: 4.4.0-78-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
    Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
    Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
    Machine: System: HP (portable) product: HP Stream Notebook v: Type1ProductConfigId
    Mobo: HP model: 815E v: 32.0C Bios: Insyde v: F.04 date: 09/21/2015
    CPU: Dual core Intel Celeron N3050 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
    flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 6400
    clock speeds: max: 2160 MHz 1: 2160 MHz 2: 722 MHz
    Graphics: Card: Intel Device 22b1 bus-ID: 00:02.0
    Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
    Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
    GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics (Cherryview)
    GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
    Audio: Card Intel Device 2284 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
    Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-78-generic
    Network: Card: Broadcom BCM43142 802.11b/g/n driver: wl bus-ID: 02:00.0
    IF: wlo1 state: up mac: <filter>
    Drives: HDD Total Size: NA (-) ID-1: /dev/mmcblk0 model: N/A size: 31.3GB
    ID-2: /dev/mmcblk1 model: N/A size: 31.9GB
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 26G used: 25G (100%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
    ID-2: /boot size: 473M used: 114M (26%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/mmcblk0p2
    ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.00GB used: 0.04GB (2%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-2
    RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
    Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A
    Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
    Info: Processes: 186 Uptime: 3:54 Memory: 599.9/1859.6MB
    Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
    Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35

This does make me definitely want to ask the other question I was looking to ask since I see the network listed, when doing this shows it being b/g/n while one of the command line calls show a/b/g and I can't get anything out of the card other than b from what I've been told. I'll ask it separately but this gives me data to post with that question...thanks.

2confused
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:47 pm

Re: Missing task bar

Postby 2confused » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:26 pm

Still looking for an answer, hopefully other than reinstalling Linux.


Return to “Newbie Questions”