[SOLVED] Black bar on top of screen

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
SchnitzeLord
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:32 am

[SOLVED] Black bar on top of screen

Postby SchnitzeLord » Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:49 am

Hi,
I recently installed Linux Mint 18 MATE for the first time.
Now, I might have missed it at first (meaning I don't know if it was okay to begin with), but at some point I noticed there's a black bar at the top of my screen.
I tried re-installing and changing GPU drivers, which didn't change anything.
Then I found out it has to do with the theme currently in use -
If I use a dark theme, it'll be dark: http://imageshack.com/a/img924/1107/IhNDch.png.
If I use a light theme, it'll be light: http://imageshack.com/a/img923/2184/6Aqjpw.png
I can move my mouse over it, meaning it isn't disabled.
If I open any application and maximize it, it is bound by the top bar: http://imageshack.com/a/img922/3899/INS68W.png
But if I open any app in fullscreen, the top bar is covered: http://imageshack.com/a/img922/1035/a9km1e.png

Any thoughts?
Thanks a bunch!
Last edited by SchnitzeLord on Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mattyboy
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Black bar on top of screen

Postby Mattyboy » Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:31 am

I'm not sure about MATE as I don't use it but the 'black bar' looks like you've added another panel ( or taskbar if you're familiar with the Windoze world ) to your desktop. Its the same as the the one at the bottom and will let you move launch icons/menus to it. Its for customizing your desktop.

On Cinnamon you just need to right click on the panel to edit and or remove/create them. Try that or something similar... maybe wait for a MATE user to post a how to.

SchnitzeLord
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:32 am

Re: Black bar on top of screen

Postby SchnitzeLord » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:25 pm

Mattyboy wrote:I'm not sure about MATE as I don't use it but the 'black bar' looks like you've added another panel ( or taskbar if you're familiar with the Windoze world ) to your desktop. Its the same as the the one at the bottom and will let you move launch icons/menus to it. Its for customizing your desktop.

On Cinnamon you just need to right click on the panel to edit and or remove/create them. Try that or something similar... maybe wait for a MATE user to post a how to.


That was it! Thank you so much, I feel like such a newbie right now.
Well, I guess that part of actually being new to Linux.
Thanks again :D

User avatar
Bekk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 6:41 am

Re: [SOLVED] Black bar on top of screen

Postby Bekk » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:58 pm

You're not the first, I did the same thing when I switched to Cinnamon. I imagine most of us here have had the same experience...if we choose to remember ;)

You can mark it down as another small step on your path to becoming a Linux Guru. Have fun!

Mattyboy
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Black bar on top of screen

Postby Mattyboy » Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:15 pm

SchnitzeLord wrote:Thanks again :D

You're welcome... and yeah, we've all done it :D


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pierre and 22 guests