[SOLVED]Unable to install or even run Linux Mint on Asus X70io laptop

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
NickByford
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED]Unable to install or even run Linux Mint on Asus X70io laptop

Post by NickByford »

Hi folks, as a veteran Windows developer and software engineer, I must confess to being a complete newbie with Linux.

I have however taken the plunge and installed Linux Mint on my old XP box. True, I need to whack in a bit more RAM to stop it running like a snail on Valium, but other than that, I can actually use it again :D

So impressed was I that I decided to install it on an Asus X70IO 32 bit laptop running Windows Vista. It's a machine that I got when some friends here upgraded, but it's running a French release of Vista and whilst I am getting to grips with French (I live in Normandy), I would prefer the machine to berate me in English.

So, using the 32 bit version of Mint I used to install on the XP machine, I set about installing on the Asus laptop.

I adjusted the BIOS boot settings to look at the DVD drive first, inserted the disc and off it went. All seemed to be going fine - but only for a few seconds, when the DVD stopped and up popped the (c) Microsoft Corporation with the little progress bar. I blinked a couple of times as I watched Windows start up. This was not off to a particularly good start.