Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:57 am

Hi All,

I am a newbie Linux user. Windows was whining for a while on my old system so I finally took the step to move to Linux.
I just finished installing Linux Mint on my system.

I have a query....a bit desperate.
I have a 1TB HDD. It had 3 partitions of around 300 GB each. I deleted and recreated the partition that used to C drive and installed mint there. I googled on the installation procudure and as per those instructions I created 3 separate partitions for mint. "/", /root, /home.

Code: Select all

https://itsfoss.com/guide-install-linux-mint-16-dual-boot-windows/


Now, after the installation is complete, I can only see one of the other 300 GB partitions.

Please help me understand what did I do wrong? and how can I access the other partition.

I am using 18.3 Cinnamon 64 bit. Cinnamon version is 3.6.6

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7291
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby jimallyn » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:15 am

Please open a terminal and enter lsblk, then copy/paste the output in your next message. Either that or install gparted and start that program (it will appear in the menu) and post a screenshot of that.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:05 am

Thanks for your reply.

Here is the text copied from lsblk

atanu@atanu-desktop ~ $ lsblk
NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sr0 11:0 1 1024M 0 rom
sda 8:0 0 931.5G 0 disk
├─sda4 8:4 0 393.6G 0 part
├─sda2 8:2 0 1K 0 part
├─sda7 8:7 0 93.1G 0 part /home
├─sda5 8:5 0 5.6G 0 part [SWAP]
├─sda3 8:3 0 293.8G 0 part
└─sda6 8:6 0 28.3G 0 part /
atanu@atanu-desktop ~ $ ^C

It is the 393G...that what I am worried about

michael louwe
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby michael louwe » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:50 am

@ cybermidas, .......

cybermidas wrote:.

.
Your old system should be Legacy BIOS using ms-dos/MBR disks. ms-dos disks are limited to 4 Primary partitions and 2TB in size. The problem is likely because of this limitation.

The itsfoss link has a discrepancy, ie the / or Root partition should be a new Primary partition, and not a new Logical partition. Personally, I prefer to have the new Swap partition set at the "end of this space".
... Please refer to ... viewtopic.php?f=42&t=122276 (manual partitioning Tutorial for Legacy BIOS mode and ms-dos disks)

If you plan to reinstall LM, you will need to first delete all the LM partitions, ie /, Home and Swap, to create a new free-space by using the "Something else" install method.

altair4
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8842
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby altair4 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:40 am

For a complete picture of where you are please post the output of the following commands:

Code: Select all

sudo blkid -c /dev/null -o list

Code: Select all

cat /etc/fstab
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:13 am

atanu@atanu-desktop ~ $ sudo blkid -c /dev/null -o list
[sudo] password for atanu:
device fs_type label mount point UUID
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/dev/sda3 ntfs (not mounted) A0D25ACDD25AA776
/dev/sda5 swap [SWAP] 5619d5c4-49d6-4937-afad-6f3c1c65d4d0
/dev/sda6 ext4 / 9f9ac71b-6740-4f85-99df-b3d3a3835437
/dev/sda7 ext4 /home 94d9f587-b199-443c-914b-18cd3ff8e1c0
atanu@atanu-desktop ~ $ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda6 during installation
UUID=9f9ac71b-6740-4f85-99df-b3d3a3835437 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /home was on /dev/sda7 during installation
UUID=94d9f587-b199-443c-914b-18cd3ff8e1c0 /home ext4 defaults 0 2
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=5619d5c4-49d6-4937-afad-6f3c1c65d4d0 none swap sw 0 0
atanu@atanu-desktop ~ $



Can I use the data in that partition without reinstalling LM?

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4856
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby Flemur » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:24 am

cybermidas wrote: I created 3 separate partitions for mint. "/", /root, /home.

Careful with the POOR terminology - and poor, or at least questionable, disk layout - that Linux inherited from Unix:
"/" is the "root" partition.
"/root" is the $HOME of user "root", which should be called "administrator", and it's almost never a separate partition. All the other users' $HOMEs are under /home/username (IOW /home is NOT $HOME).
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

michael louwe
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby michael louwe » Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:04 pm

@ cybermidas, .......

cybermidas wrote:.

.
Were you able to boot into LM and/or Windows after the install.?

Normally, after a successfully installation of LM alongside Windows, on booting from the internal HDD, you will be presented with a Linux Grub menu for you to boot into LM, by default in 10 seconds, or Windows.

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:31 pm

Flemur wrote:
cybermidas wrote: I created 3 separate partitions for mint. "/", /root, /home.

Careful with the POOR terminology - and poor, or at least questionable, disk layout - that Linux inherited from Unix:
"/" is the "root" partition.
"/root" is the $HOME of user "root", which should be called "administrator", and it's almost never a separate partition. All the other users' $HOMEs are under /home/username (IOW /home is NOT $HOME).



Sorry....did not knew that....

Can you please help me finding a way out of this quagmire?

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:32 pm

michael louwe wrote:@ cybermidas, .......

cybermidas wrote:.

.
Were you able to boot into LM and/or Windows after the install.?

Normally, after a successfully installation of LM alongside Windows, on booting from the internal HDD, you will be presented with a Linux Grub menu for you to boot into LM, by default in 10 seconds, or Windows.



I deleted Windows boot sector. So no windows is present.
Though I plan to install windows 10 later on. I have kept free space of 125GB for that.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4856
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby Flemur » Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:14 pm

cybermidas wrote:Sorry....did not knew that....

No need to apologize for that!

Can you please help me finding a way out of this quagmire?

Is the issue that you can't "see" the two 300GB partitions?
Here's one of them:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda3 ntfs (not mounted) A0D25ACDD25AA776


Have you tried looking in "Places" (and similar) with your file browser?
Normally "extra" partitions (like an old "C:") are NOT automagically mounted - you either add them to
/etc/fstab
or do file-browser/"Places".

Edit:
start "gparted" (from menus or, in a terminal):

Code: Select all

gksudo gparted

That'll give you a clear, graphical representation of your partitions.
You can also post that picture here:
screenshot -> hopefully crop it(!) - save as jpg, about 60% quality -> "Attachments" tab in this forum, below the window you enter text in, lets you add a picture.
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:00 pm

thanks Flemur for the kind words

In the image, the "Unallocated" 117 GB is a conscious decision

The sda3 (293.2 GB) is the drive visible to me. But for some reason it is mounted as 315 GB.

The sda4 (393 GB) , is the one I am worried about.

Hope this gives enough information for you to help me.
Attachments
Untitled.jpg

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:05 pm

However, when I go to Disk from All programs , I see the below.
The sizes are different.

What should I do?
Attachments
Untitled.jpg

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:01 pm

Any help please?

Mute Ant
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4374
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby Mute Ant » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:24 pm

Usually I avoid anything involving Windows, my experience is too dated to help, but here I suspect advanced-Windows in action; dynamic drives or compressed NTFS or encrypted data, sadly lost when the C: volume was removed. For gparted to find /dev/sda4 in the MBR but then claim 'unknown' for the type of file system means Linux probably can't connect to what's in there. The photorec command will let you have a sniff at the contents, just to get an idea of whether there's any files that could be recovered.
echo "c 13 o 6 9 * p q" | dc

User avatar
surensniper
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:13 am
Location: India

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby surensniper » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:34 am

cybermidas wrote:Any help please?

The problem might also because of "encrypted drives" in Windows. When you were in Win10, was the drive icons had a padlock symbol or a yellow warning triangle on them? If you have seem them, then the drives were locked or maintained by Windows' patented encryption platform "Bitlocker". Bitlocker has both TPM technology which has a software end connected to a hardware chip in your system for security measures. Just shared my thought.. If you have seen bitlocker around when you were in Windows, I would suggest you to find a workaround way to disable the TPM tech from BIOS. hope this helps.
Linux Mint 18.3 (Cinnamon)
Quad core Intel Core i7-6700 | ASUSTeK model: B150M PRO GAMING | NVIDIA GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti] | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR4 | WD Green SSD 120GB Linux | Sandisk SSD 125GB Win10 | WD Green 1TB HDD | Dell S2218H (Dual)

cybermidas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:45 am

Re: Mint is not showing all the partitions of HDD

Postby cybermidas » Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:48 pm

surensniper wrote:
cybermidas wrote:Any help please?

The problem might also because of "encrypted drives" in Windows. When you were in Win10, was the drive icons had a padlock symbol or a yellow warning triangle on them? If you have seem them, then the drives were locked or maintained by Windows' patented encryption platform "Bitlocker". Bitlocker has both TPM technology which has a software end connected to a hardware chip in your system for security measures. Just shared my thought.. If you have seen bitlocker around when you were in Windows, I would suggest you to find a workaround way to disable the TPM tech from BIOS. hope this helps.



No Bitlocker was not enabled.

At this moment, I would be happy if I could just use the drive itself. If I get the data, its fine; if not; its fine also.


Return to “Newbie Questions”