Kind of a weird wireless question....

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
wookietim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Tampa Florida
Contact:

Kind of a weird wireless question....

Postby wookietim » Sat May 16, 2009 11:37 pm

I just installed KDE 4 on my Linux Mint system. It seems to work better on my system and uses a lot less resources (And looks nicer than Gnome)... But when I do a cold boot directly into it, it seems that my wireless networking doesn't start. If I log out, log into Gnome and then log out of gnome and back into KDE, it works.

I don't get it... Could some one talk me through fixing this? Treat me like a complete idiot - I have no idea where to start looking into this...

chad1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:17 pm

Re: Kind of a weird wireless question....

Postby chad1 » Sun May 17, 2009 11:14 pm

Hey there, sounds like you don't have 'knetworkmanager' installed or its not set to run at startup. Check out the program 'Wicd'. Its a pretty kick a$$ wireless gui.

Code: Select all

apt-get install wicd


Then go to System--> Preferences--> Sessions (or Startup Applications) and select it (Wicd)

wookietim
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: Tampa Florida
Contact:

Re: Kind of a weird wireless question....

Postby wookietim » Mon May 18, 2009 7:37 am

That was what it was - thanks for the heads up!

User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Re: Kind of a weird wireless question....

Postby AK Dave » Mon May 18, 2009 5:15 pm

NM works fine for me. I have zero complaints with it. But others have issues and use wicd instead. To each his own, I suppose.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BG405, matelot1958 and 3 guests