Goodbye Windows

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Cripple73

Goodbye Windows

Post by Cripple73 »

Hey all,
I've been using Linux mint 18 for a few months now on dual boot with windows 10. I am never using Windows and feel its time to rid my laptop of Windows all together.
Is it best to just do a clean reinstall of Linux mint on the entire SSD? And what if I want to do dual boot of different versions ie cinnamon, mate or xdfe?

Your feedback would be very helpful.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Goodbye Windows

Post by Pierre »

Welcome to the Wild Side
:D

My Recommendation, is to remove the Original HDD / SSD,
and then replace it with a < new > HDD / SSD & then install LinuxMint onto that.
( for Warranty Reasons, if ever needed )

However, if you don't wish to do that,
AND you have created a win-10 ISO whilst you still have win-10 installed,
- you never know, and it may just come in handy, some day
AND you have backed up All of Your Stuff, from that win-10 system,
8)
then, sure, go ahead, with the Big Erase & Install Thing.
:)

then, if you wish to get really involved, with Tri-Booting or Quad-Booting various Linux Systems,
for that, will take some forward planning:
- separate /Home for each system ?
- just a separate / root for each system ?
or like me, a bit of both ??