access to drives connected to pi

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
wiab4355
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:49 am

access to drives connected to pi

Post by wiab4355 »

I've got a Raspberry Pi to which are connected a few drives.

When the big TV is being used by She-who-must-be-obeyed, I can access these drives on my downstairs W10 laptop, put on headphones and enjoy my own stuff.

I would occasionally like to do the same on my upstairs LM18.1Mate laptop, but have become hopelessly confused by *nix jargon.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Ian, an AFC Wimbledon fan (come on, you Dons)
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: access to drives connected to pi

Post by deepakdeshp »

Please install vnc viewer and get the pi desktop on your Mint.
To find the raspberry pi ip
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... hp?t=55804
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB
wiab4355
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:49 am

Re: access to drives connected to pi

Post by wiab4355 »

OK installed gvncviewer, but now can't find it in list of installed packages.How do I use it?
Ian, an AFC Wimbledon fan (come on, you Dons)
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8210
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: access to drives connected to pi

Post by deepakdeshp »

From terminal vncviewer or search in Menu
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”