Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jyr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:42 am

Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by jyr » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:54 am

Since I upgrade to 18.2 I meet frequent freeze of Cinnamon. Sometime, a "Redémarrer Cinnamon" is sufficient, but often il necessary de de-connect and identified again.

My machine :

Code: Select all

System:    Host: jyr-LDLCW330SU2 Kernel: 4.4.0-104-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) dm: mdm Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: Notebook (portable) product: W330SU2 Chassis: No Enclosure type: 9
           Mobo: Notebook model: W330SU2 Bios: American Megatrends v: 4.6.5 date: 10/31/2014
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-4210U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9578
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/2700 MHz 1: 2400 MHz 2: 2450 MHz 3: 2454 MHz 4: 2449 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0a16
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1600x900@60.07hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:9c20
           Card-2 Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0 chip-ID: 8086:0a0c
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-104-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Wireless 7265 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 8086:095a
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 03:00.1 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (62.6% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SM2280S size: 120.0GB serial: 50026B7257005E65
Partition: ID-1: / size: 106G used: 70G (70%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: /boot size: 236M used: 187M (84%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sda1
RAID:      System: supported: N/A
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 46.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list
           deb http: //liveusb.info/multisystem/depot all main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http: //mirrors.ircam.fr/pub/linuxmint sonya main upstream import backport
           deb http: //mirrors.ircam.fr/pub/ubuntu/archive xenial main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //mirrors.ircam.fr/pub/ubuntu/archive xenial-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //mirrors.ircam.fr/pub/ubuntu/archive xenial-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http: //archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ xenial partner
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/skype-stable.list
           deb [arch=amd64] https: //repo.skype.com/deb stable main
Info:      Processes: 212 Uptime: 18:37 Memory: 1816.6/3833.3MB
           Init: systemd v: 229 runlevel: 5 default: 2 Gcc sys: 5.4.0 alt: 4.8
Client: Unknown python2.7 client inxi: 2.2.35  
What can I do ? Thanks

JYR
Last edited by Moem on Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [code] tags. They retain some formatting that makes your output easier to read. Also split this off into a new topic.

User avatar
bensatlantic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:53 pm

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by bensatlantic » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:27 am

Perhaps try a different desktop temporarily - log out of Cinnamon session, choose LXDE or MATE desktop session (install desktop if necessary ex- sudo apt-get install LXDE) and see if freeze re-occurs with the lighter desktop. If OK with lighter desktop, the problem might be with Cinnamon desktop and you can troubleshoot from there.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17829
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by Cosmo. » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:36 am

How is jyr supposed to follow this advice? No Mint edition comes with more than one DE installed and installing multiple DEs is not recommended; it might give more problems, than he has already. Besides that LXDE is not even officially supported by Mint.

Question is: From which version has the system been upgraded and with which method. As the upgrade is possibly 4 or more weeks ago the next question is, if the problem came already after the upgrade or at some later time.

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4319
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:40 am

bensatlantic wrote:Perhaps try a different desktop temporarily - log out of Cinnamon session, choose LXDE or MATE desktop session (install desktop if necessary ex- sudo apt-get install LXDE) and see if freeze re-occurs with the lighter desktop. If OK with lighter desktop, the problem might be with Cinnamon desktop and you can troubleshoot from there.
Installing more than one DE is probably the most common bit of bad noob Linux advice out there. It's a good way to break your OS and I don't know of a single knowledgeable user who'd do it.

Beyond that what does "Redémarrer Cinnamon" mean?

aes2011
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:39 pm

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by aes2011 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:54 pm

Hoser Rob wrote:... what does "Redémarrer Cinnamon" mean?
Apparently, it's French for restarting Cinnamon.

User avatar
bensatlantic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:53 pm

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by bensatlantic » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:30 pm

Wow. Armchair warriors Cosmo at Level 22 and Hoser Rob at Level 9 berate me for my suggestion while offering no help at all to the OP.

jyr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:42 am

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by jyr » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:59 pm

Hello !

It is ok when I restart Cinnamon when characters are not visible. But, when system hang, even a terminal is not accessible. Only solution than I find : push stop buttom a long time.

I presume complete hang is from Firefox.

Thanks for help.

JYR

Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by Mattyboy » Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:14 pm

jyr wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:59 pm
Hello !

It is ok when I restart Cinnamon when characters are not visible. But, when system hang, even a terminal is not accessible. Only solution than I find : push stop buttom a long time.

I presume complete hang is from Firefox.

Thanks for help.

JYR
Hello, Bonjour.

Yes please do ignore the advice to install another desktop version on top of an existing one, I'm sure they were only trying to help.

Based on your system specs and the fact you are having problems when using Firefox I would say that Cinnamon is to heavy a desktop version for your machine.

You can open the system monitor or use the

Code: Select all

top
command to see what is happening.

I would recommend you install a lighter desktop version, say MATE, after backing up your files. Then switch off any desktop effects.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3132
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:49 pm

There should be no ‘normal' reason why jyr shouldn't be able to run Cinnamon with the specs shown.

Maybe check how much disk space you have available for / partition?
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

gm10
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4092
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by gm10 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:23 pm

This multiple DEs break your system trope is a bit of an urban legend for the most part but let's not get into that, it should not be the first step to troubleshooting, anyway.

I agree that OP's system should easily be able to handle Cinnamon, but I noticed that mattyboy recommends to everybody to switch to MATE, so there's that (not that I disagree, I prefer MATE myself).

That said, the first thing I noticed is that no display driver is listed here, unless that was a known inxi issue in Mint 18.2:

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0a16
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1600x900@60.07hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
So might be a driver issue, check xorg logs to be sure. Cinnamon relies on graphics acceleration to run properly. And at least on my system Mint (unlike Ubuntu) doesn't automatically install the required intel drivers, so might be that.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3132
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:28 am

Good catch gm10.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4319
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by Hoser Rob » Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:41 am

bensatlantic wrote:
Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:27 am
Perhaps try a different desktop temporarily - log out of Cinnamon session, choose LXDE or MATE desktop session (install desktop if necessary ex- sudo apt-get install LXDE) and see if freeze re-occurs with the lighter desktop. If OK with lighter desktop, the problem might be with Cinnamon desktop and you can troubleshoot from there.
NEVER EVER advise anyone to install another DE over the existing one. It's one of the best ways to break your OS, and the usually recommended fix is to do a data backup and clean reinstall. That's probably the +1 bit of bad newbie advice there is.

And if you've done it and it isn't broken, you just haven't done enough system updates, and I don't mean high level ones.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3132
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Frequent freeze of Cinnamon

Post by JerryF » Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:23 pm

I just noticed that you don't have a Swap partition. That might be a cause.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”