OpenVPN with NordVPN has DNS leak

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Yetanotherusername

OpenVPN with NordVPN has DNS leak

Post by Yetanotherusername »

Hi,

I am new to Linux which I have installed alongside my windows 10.

How do I solve a DNS leak with OpenVPN?

I have Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon and I use OpenVPN to connect to my NordVPN subscription using these instructions.
On this website I noticed I have a DNS leak. I do not have a leak using NordVPN in windows 10!
I googled for solutions and tried the following:
http://www.ubuntubuzz.com/2015/09/how-t ... linux.html
block-outside-dns
But I'm not even sure I did it correctly since I'm a noob and not familiar with all this techno jumbo lingo. For a start, it took me ages to find out how to be able to edit the nl126.nordvpn.com.udp.ovpn file with root privileges.

I hope there's an easy solution. I would love to move to Linux but my experience till now is that Windows is for the general (ignorant) public and linux is for the intelligent programmers.

Thanks in advance for the help.
sammiev

Re: OpenVPN with NordVPN has DNS leak

Post by sammiev »

I have been installing "bind9" like so.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install bind9
Edit your network connections and change IPv6 to Ignore.

Edit IPv4 to "Automatic DHCP Address only" and in DNS Servers: type in 127.0.0.1 and select save.

sudo /etc/init.d/bind9 restart
Edit the configuration file:

sudo nano /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
Find the line:

dns=dnsmasq
Replace it with: