Remote desktop on Mate 18.3

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
homeuser

Remote desktop on Mate 18.3

Post by homeuser »

A Newbie here. I have set up two machines (laptop and a desktop) with new clean copies of Linux Mint Mate 18.3. What I want to do is be able to remote to the desktop from the laptop. I installed tightvncserver on the desktop and I am able to connect and enter the connection password but then I get a blank screen. I know I must be missing something basic but how can I get a desktop? I have found lots of "solutions" on the Internet but nothing I've tried has yet worked. Thanks for any clues you can provide.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Termy
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Remote desktop on Mate 18.3

Post by Termy »

I recommend looking into TeamViewer. It's a nice lil program. Works with Windows and Linux. (I believe Mac as well) As for what you installed, I'm not sure.

https://www.teamviewer.com/en/download/linux/

Or at least, it's an option. I dunno how trustworthy it is, however. I've used it on and off for years without issue, and know others who have, but that's anicdotal, I guess.
I'm also Terminalforlife on GitHub.
tovian
Level 5
Level 5

Post by tovian »