How to put live USB Mint persistent storage on hard disk

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
davidmint01
Level 1
Level 1

How to put live USB Mint persistent storage on hard disk

Post by davidmint01 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:34 pm

I am having amazing success using live Mint on flash drives plugged into two old Asus Eee 1000HE netbook computers. No other ISOs have worked this well. :D

But I would like to move the large persistent storage system file (casper) so that it runs from the Windows XP NTFS hard disk instead of from the 8 GiB USB flash drive. This will speed up Linux Mint quite a bit. :o

I'm a Windows expert, but know almost nothing about Linux or the Mint GUI.

Important: I don't want to Install Mint! I don't want to erase Windows XP or its files! If you don't fully understand the question, please do not attempt to answer it, thanks. :wink:

I2k4
Level 5
Level 5

Re: How to put live USB Mint persistent storage on hard disk

Post by I2k4 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:32 pm

My own experience - with a basic second-gen Acer netbook running W7 "Starter" - began with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS on persistent live USB, and it took a couple of years and a move to Mint before I got comfortable enough to install a dual boot - so I have empathy for caution and unwillingness to muck with the Windows HD install. That said: