Desktop screen shrunk?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:10 pm

Hi guys....this is a strange one.

I've been running 18.3 Cinammon with no problems whatsoever.

But I fired up the PC this morning and my resolution of 1440 x 900 was as normal......but I've now got two large black edges on the side as it's not adjusting out to my 21" screen.

Start up and login is as normal.....it's just the desktop that's like it. I reset the res to 1920 x 1080 and it fills the screen......but everything is much too small at that resolution.

Any ideas on how to get round this?

xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:30 am

As an update to this....I reinstalled the system but no difference.

Tried generic graphic drivers and nVidia but no difference with that.

So I'm out of ideas now.....can anybody advise?

Hoser Rob
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5605
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by Hoser Rob » Thu Jan 25, 2018 7:44 am

There's not much to go on there ... need proper system info, copy/paste this to the teminal and copy/paste the text output here:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz

xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:12 am

Here it is Rob!

Code: Select all

user@user-HP-280-G2-MT-Non-Legacy ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: user-HP-280-G2-MT-Non-Legacy Kernel: 4.13.0-31-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: HP product: HP 280 G2 MT (Non-Legacy)
           Mobo: HP model: 2B5E v: 1.00 Bios: AMI v: A0.10 date: 06/06/2016
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-6100 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 14784
           clock speeds: max: 3700 MHz 1: 3700 MHz 2: 3700 MHz 3: 3700 MHz
           4: 3700 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA Device 128b bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1440x900@59.89hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GT 710/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.111 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GK208 HDMI/DP Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Card-3 Logitech driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 001-003
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-31-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Atheros AR9271 802.11n driver: ath9k_htc usb-ID: 001-002
           IF: wlx001d1a0c77b9 state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (11.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_DT01ACA0 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 451G used: 45G (11%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.49GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 41.5C mobo: 29.8C gpu: 0.0:38C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 192 Uptime: 1:17 Memory: 1384.0/7880.5MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

User avatar
Termy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by Termy » Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:26 am

Open a terminal and run: xdpyinfo | grep "dots per inch" && xrandr -s 1920x1080 --dpi 96 Then taken note of the output. You may need to log out then back in to ensure everything reads the new DPI setting. How does everything look? If it's OK, then you're sorted. Keep note of that output, in-case it's not to your liking. For example, here's what I see on my 1920x1080 monitor:

Code: Select all

$ xdpyinfo | grep 96
  resolution:    96x96 dots per inch
    visual id:    0x396
    visual id:    0x496
Sometimes a resolution change messes up the DPI, for some reason. I've also, in the past, had DPI issues when changing display drivers.
Here to help.

I'm LearnLinux (LL) on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfp-lN ... naEE6NtDSg
I'm also terminalforlife (TFL) on GitHub: https://github.com/terminalforlife

xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 am

I get this: resolution: 96x96 dots per inch but nothing changes besides.

User avatar
Termy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by Termy » Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:34 am

Aaah, strange! So you have the right DPI and the native resolution of your monitor, but still everything is squished, leaving black boxes on the left and right? I'm wondering if your monitor itself has been changed. Maybe have a look at your monitor's OSD.
Here to help.

I'm LearnLinux (LL) on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfp-lN ... naEE6NtDSg
I'm also terminalforlife (TFL) on GitHub: https://github.com/terminalforlife

xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:25 am

Nothing has changed on the monitor.....and it reverts to full width if I switch it up to 1920.

xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:27 pm

Solved! Monitor settings had changed......even though it hadn't been touched. Really bizarre! :!:

Thanks anyway guys!

User avatar
Termy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by Termy » Thu Jan 25, 2018 12:49 pm

I knew it! lol Glad it's fixed. :) Have fun with Linux.
Here to help.

I'm LearnLinux (LL) on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfp-lN ... naEE6NtDSg
I'm also terminalforlife (TFL) on GitHub: https://github.com/terminalforlife

xtremo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:48 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by xtremo » Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:45 pm

Thanks!

I've been racking my brains to figure how the monitor settings could have changed without manual intervention.

The only thing I can think of is we may have suffered a power surge when we had a power cut yesterday.

User avatar
Termy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Desktop screen shrunk?

Post by Termy » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:23 am

Aaaaah, yeah that could've done it. lol
Here to help.

I'm LearnLinux (LL) on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfp-lN ... naEE6NtDSg
I'm also terminalforlife (TFL) on GitHub: https://github.com/terminalforlife

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”