Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Corvus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:23 pm

Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by Corvus » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:38 pm

Hello,

It took me a while to realize that my new laptop is painfully slow because it is only using one core instead of two.

I'm running Mint 18.2 and my laptop is an HP Pavilion dv6000.

Running inxi -f on terminal reveals the following:

Code: Select all

CPU:       Single core AMD Turion 64 Mobile MK-36 (-UP-) cache: 512 KB
           speed/max: 1600/2000 MHz
           CPU Flags: 3dnow 3dnowext 3dnowprefetch apic clflush cmov
           cr8_legacy cx16 cx8 de eagerfpu extapic extd_apicid fpu fxsr
           fxsr_opt lahf_lm lm mca mce mmx mmxext msr mtrr nopl nx pae pat pge
           pni pse pse36 rdtscp rep_good sep sse sse2 svm syscall tsc vme
           vmmcall
Any idea how I can get the system to recognize and use both cores?

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8419
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by jimallyn » Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:51 pm

I did a little googling. Turion 64 MK-36 processors are single core, not dual core.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

Corvus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:23 pm

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by Corvus » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:04 pm

Unfortunately, it appears that you're right. What a shame.

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8419
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by jimallyn » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:07 pm

There are things you can do to speed up your laptop: use a lighter desktop environment, minimize the use of swap, add RAM, and so on. Open a terminal, enter inxi -Fxz and press Enter. Copy/paste the output of that command in your next post, and we'll see what can be done.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

Petermint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:12 am

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by Petermint » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:43 pm

The passmark result for that processor is the lowest I have ever seen for any computer. You might have to use something ultra lightweight like Pixel.

User avatar
Termy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 762
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by Termy » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:08 pm

Puppy Linux would probably be a good candidate for that machine. By the way, AMD's Athlon 64 x2 were the first (or one of the first) consumer dual-core CPUs, apparently released in 2005; I had one way back when. You can actually dig out some very decent computers from places people chuck them; many Windows users who have zero idea how useful an old computer can be! Heck, I've found Windows-7-era quad-core machines (laptops and desktops), fully functioning. Just be prepared to unfortunately find some weird stuff on their HDD. lol
Here to help.

I'm LearnLinux (LL) on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfp-lN ... naEE6NtDSg
I'm also terminalforlife (TFL) on GitHub: https://github.com/terminalforlife

RobertService
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:36 am

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by RobertService » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:49 pm

Would suggest LM 17.3 Xfce--absolutely nothing later, or 'heavier'--as your best Mint choice, along with 2 GB of RAM, which your machine supports. You should end up with a very serviceable laptop.

User avatar
prestonR
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:24 pm
Location: Harare

Re: Mint won't run both cores; only uses one processor

Post by prestonR » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:25 am

I maintain a PB Easynote with Athlon Turion 64 X2 with 4GB ram and ssd and it's been so far absolutely trouble free. It's a triple boot with Win7 for FL Studio, UbuntuStudio 17.04 and Manjaro KDE with 4.15 kernel.

All I had to do is tune down KDEs eye candy a little, although I'd consider the ssd a must for any music apps.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”