[SOLVED] how to install a prebuilt binary?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Taman
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:17 am

[SOLVED] how to install a prebuilt binary?

Post by Taman » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:22 am

Hi,

I am completely new to Linux. I want to use the following software: https://github.com/tzutalin/labelImg
There is a link there to prebuilt linux binaries.
I downloaded the latest version and now am totally at loss what to do.
Linux says it is an executable but it does not seem to do anything.
Can anyone help / explain?

Thanks!
Last edited by Taman on Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6213
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: how to install a prebuilt binary?

Post by catweazel » Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:56 am

You don't need to install it. Start a terminal where you have extracted the download to and simply type ./labelImg, then wait.
Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile - Albert Einstein

User avatar
phd21
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6532
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: how to install a prebuilt binary?

Post by phd21 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:01 am

Hi Taman,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Mint and its excellent forum!

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

Prebuilt binaries are ready to run and all you have to do is check to see that you have permission to run it which in this case is already set, and then double-click the executable program file. You can also create a menu item or desktop shortcut launcher to that file.

This particular software has various versions the oldest is listed first and the newer ones later on. Their v1.2 did not work on my system, but v1.4.3 does. I am not yet sure what this software does, but it does come up.

This is the download link to their v1.4.3 in an archive zip file (linux_v1.4.3.zip), after downloading the zip file just right-click it, extract here, then double-click the "labelImg" file in their "linux_v1.4.3" folder.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/bpbo3oh0zgl05 ... 3.zip?dl=1



Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Taman
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 2:17 am

Re: how to install a prebuilt binary?

Post by Taman » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:47 am

v1.4.3 gives error:segmentation fault when executed in the terminal. It doesn't do anything when double-clicked.
However, it works when I build it from source.
v.1.3 works by double-clicking.

Anyway, problem solved as it works now. Thanks!

User avatar
kc1di
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4569
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: how to install a prebuilt binary?

Post by kc1di » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:59 am

Hi Taman and Welcome to Linux Mint Forums,
Good to have you here. Great you found a solution. If you have a moment please mark the Thread as solved by editing the subject line of your first post.
Thanks :)
Easy tips : https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

User avatar
phd21
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6532
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: how to install a prebuilt binary?

Post by phd21 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:48 am

Hi Taman,

You are welcome...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”