Cannot set country code to UK in WiFi

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Cannot set country code to UK in WiFi

Post by Charlie » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:11 pm

I have been reading the "Networking" part of the forum and I read, with interest, and post in which it was advised to set the proper country code. So I checked mine and it is unset.

Code: Select all

charlie@charlie-ThinkPad-X61 ~ $ sudo iw reg get
[sudo] password for charlie: 
country 00: DFS-UNSET
	(2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 20), (N/A)
	(2457 - 2482 @ 40), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-IR
	(2474 - 2494 @ 20), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-OFDM, NO-IR
	(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-IR
	(5250 - 5330 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (0 ms), DFS, NO-IR
	(5490 - 5730 @ 160), (N/A, 20), (0 ms), DFS, NO-IR
	(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 20), (N/A), NO-IR
	(57240 - 63720 @ 2160), (N/A, 0), (N/A)
charlie@charlie-ThinkPad-X61 ~ $ 
 
I would like to have it set to UK but it will not accept any commands that I have located after extensive searching.

Code: Select all

charlie@charlie-ThinkPad-X61 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: charlie-ThinkPad-X61 Kernel: 4.13.0-32-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 76757KU v: ThinkPad X61
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 76757KU
           Bios: LENOVO v: 7NETC1WW (2.21 ) date: 10/09/2009
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo T7300 (-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7979
           clock speeds: max: 2001 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 1600 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary)
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x768@50.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 965GM
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 17.2.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-32-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82566MM Gigabit Network Connection
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: 1840 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection
           driver: iwl4965 v: in-tree: bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wls3 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 324.1GB (3.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS54501 size: 160.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD1600BEVS size: 160.0GB
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: USB_Flash_Disk size: 4.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 144G used: 7.0G (6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
           ID-2: /boot size: 472M used: 129M (29%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 3.19GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 53.0C mobo: 49.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 3450 mobo: 7437
Info:      Processes: 184 Uptime: 12 min Memory: 928.6/2976.8MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
charlie@charlie-ThinkPad-X61 ~ $ 
 

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: Cannot set country code to UK in WiFi

Post by Charlie » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:16 pm

I tried everything on this page but no luck.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/819830/ ... ault-crda

JeremyB
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8860
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Cannot set country code to UK in WiFi

Post by JeremyB » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:27 pm

If you are in the UK(United Kingdom) the correct country code is GB as UK is not defined in /usr/share/zoneinfo/zone.tab

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: Cannot set country code to UK in WiFi

Post by Charlie » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:37 am

JeremyB wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:27 pm
If you are in the UK(United Kingdom) the correct country code is GB as UK is not defined in /usr/share/zoneinfo/zone.tab
Thank you Jeremy. Easy when you use the right code. It was a bit like banging my head against the wall for a while there.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”