I have no option to boot Mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Calv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:34 am

I have no option to boot Mint

Post by Calv » Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:06 am

Hello!

I've never used Mint before and I've only used Ubuntu a little bit in the past, so I'm almost completely new to Linux. I decided to try Mint so I downloaded version 18.3 Cinnamon 64bit and burnt it onto a DVD. I then restarted my computer (which is running Windows 10) and allowed the DVD to boot. In the partition settings I shrank the 4TB partition on my 4TB HDD to 3TB, leaving me 1TB for Mint. After realising I had to create a swap partition I created a 200GB one and an 800GB ext4 partition, with the boot sector set to the 800GB ext4 partition. I had no messages then saying there might be a problem so went ahead and installed Mint. It installed successfully so I took the DVD out and restarted my computer. When it restarted though I had no option to boot Mint and it just booted Windows as usual (which is on my 1TB SSD, a different drive). I restarted it again and used the BIOS boot menu to choose my 4TB HDD for booting but it still just booted Windows again.

Maybe when installing Mint I should've just chosen to install it alongside Windows, but I didn't because I knew I wanted Mint on a different drive. So obviously now I have to edit some sort of master boot record and I haven't got a clue how to do it. I basically just want the option to boot Windows or Mint every time I start/restart my computer. Any help would be great.

Cheers.

Darren

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3853
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by deepakdeshp » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:10 am

You can reinstall Mint choosing option to install it along existing os. The swap should be twice your ram.keeping it more is wasting the disk space.
Boot into your live Mint usb, use gparted to delete the partitions you want to and later reinstall Mint.
Grub has to be reinstalled on /dev/sda when the dialog to install grub comes up during installation.
In case you want to do it manually, here's an excellent guide. viewtopic.php?f=42&t=122276
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by michael louwe » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:43 am

@ Calv, .......
Calv wrote:...
.
To install LM alongside Win 10 on a multi-drives system in UEFI mode, please refer to ... https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295 (UEFI Installing - Tips )
https://nwrickert2.wordpress.com/2013/0 ... and-linux/ (notes-on-uefi-windows-and-linux)
https://askubuntu.com/questions/380447/ ... ew-machine (uefi-boot-fails-when-cloning-image-to-new-machine)

There is no need to pre-shrink the hard-drive to accommodate the Swap partition. It will be done during the installation process.

User avatar
slipstick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 795
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere on the /LL0 scale

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by slipstick » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:45 am

deepakdeshp wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:10 am
You can reinstall Mint choosing option to install it along existing os. The swap should be twice your ram.keeping it more is wasting the disk space.
Boot into your live Mint usb, use gparted to delete the partitions you want to and later reinstall Mint.
Grub has to be reinstalled on /dev/sda when the dialog to install grub comes up during installation.
In case you want to do it manually, here's an excellent guide.. https://forums.linuxmint.com/view ... t=122276
I get a "Not Found" error at that link. Try these installation instructions:
[Tutorial] Installing Mint on a Windows 8/8.1/10 Computer
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they ain't.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by michael louwe » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:13 am


Calv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:34 am

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by Calv » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:33 pm

Thanks guys. I started again by deleting the swap and ext4 partitions on my 4TB HDD leaving 1TB of unallocated space. Then I reinstalled Mint this time alongside Windows and it chose to use the unallocated space automatically plus using my 1TB SSD for the boot menu. When I restart I now get the boot menu before Windows or Mint boots, giving me the option to boot either and I'm currently using Mint as I type this. :)

Thanks again for your help.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2777
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by michael louwe » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:54 pm

@ Calv, .......
Calv wrote:...
.
Bear in mind that forced Win 10 auto-updates or upgrades will often bork Grub-EFI = cannot boot Linux and can only boot Win 10. In this case, refer to ...
https://askubuntu.com/questions/838780/ ... every-time (windows-10-changes-uefi-boot-order-every-time)
https://askubuntu.com/questions/235567/ ... ot-manager (windows-8-removes-grub-as-default-boot-manager)

https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/6 (how to reinstall Grub-EFI)
https://wiki.debian.org/GrubEFIReinstall
https://xpressubuntu.wordpress.com/2014 ... -pavilion/ (how-to-reinstall-grub-after-windows-8-1-upgrade-on-a-hp-pavilion)

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3135
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by JerryF » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:29 pm

Calv wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:06 am
...
After realising I had to create a swap partition I created a 200GB one and an 800GB ext4 partition...
Your swap partition doesn't need to be that large. Swap is used when RAM is insufficient or if you use hibernation. Usually, swap is 1.5 times the amount of your RAM.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
thx-1138
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1247
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by thx-1138 » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:44 pm

Also, since you're dual-booting, make sure you disable Fast Start-Up under your Windows installation - it will save you from various headaches later on (booting problems, possible filesystem corruption etc)...

Calv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:34 am

Re: I have no option to boot Mint

Post by Calv » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:54 am

Ok, thanks guys. I'll bear those things in mind.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”