[SOLVED] Linux & win apps (programs, games etc)

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MrIggy

[SOLVED] Linux & win apps (programs, games etc)

Post by MrIggy »

Hi everybody, I'm new to Linux Mint and I was wondering about what is the best way to run win apps on Linux? Is it better to go just with Wine or through PlayoOnLinux and how? Which additional program components, and how, help with the running of such apps (winetricks etc.)?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Linux & win apps (programs, games etc)

Post by Hoser Rob »

PlayOnLinux, like others, is just a Wine GUI. The useful thing it does is juggle Wine versions for you to try to find one that works. But Wine is a stupoid idea from the start and not reliable. You cannot expect to run any (or even most) WIndows apps with it.

The best way is to run WIndows in dual boot or in a virtual machine like Virtualbox.
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong - H. L. Mencken
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Post by Moem »

Hoser Rob wrote: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:50 am Wine is a stupoid idea from the start and not reliable. You cannot expect to run any (or even most) WIndows apps with it.